Kimber K6 DASA Combat – Self Defense Wheelgun Extraordinaire

The new Kimber K6 DASA Combat is a continuation of the highly successful K6 Series. The Combat model features a 4” barrel.

Kimber Wheelguns

In 2016, Kimber shocked the market with the introduction of the K6 revolver. The initial pistols were offered with a 2” barrel and were billed as having the smallest diameter cylinder capable of holding six rounds of .357 Magnum. When Kimber introduced a 3” version, it certainly got my attention. The new 3” model was sleek, sexy, and looked like a serious man’s pistol. I reviewed the 3” barrel K6 in August of 2018, and in June of this year, I reviewed the K6 Deep Cover. While many were initially skeptical, the K6 has earned a reputation for being solid, well designed, and reliable.

The new Combat model is shown with the 3” version of the K6 DASA.

Last year, Kimber brought out the K6 SADA, single action/double action model, with an exposed hammer. The initial K6 SADA models were offered with a 2” or 3” barrel. Now, Kimber has brought out the K6 Combat DASA with a 4” barrel. As with all K6 revolvers, the Combat is an all stainless revolver that, according to Kimber, does not contain any MIM components. The internal design of all K6 revolvers closely resembles the mechanics of a Smith & Wesson.

The internals of the K6 series are very similar to a Smith & Wesson K frame. The photo shows a concealed hammer K6 with an internal hammer. Photo credit: Luckgunner.

Introducing the new Kimber K6 DASA Combat

The K6 DASA Combat has a 4” barrel but is still very easy to carry, with an overall length of 8.62” and a height of 5”. Like other K6 models, the cylinder diameter is a mere 1.39”. The K6 Combat weight is 25.5 ounces. This is 3 ounces lighter than Colt’s 3” King Cobra and almost 12 ounces lighter than the Smith & Wesson Model 19 Classic. The overall size is slightly smaller than a Smith & Wesson K frame and marginally larger than a J frame. This places it in the Colt D frame category. Every edge on the pistol has been smoothed and rounded, leaving the pistol void of any offending edges. Instead of traditional flutes between the chambers, the cylinder features Kimber flats. This increases cylinder strength and gives the K6 a unique appearance. The recoil shields have been scalloped and the cylinder release is a raised checkered button. Kimber rounded the edges on the cylinder release so there are no sharp edges that, under recoil, can cut the shooter’s thumb.

For size comparison, the K6 DASA Combat is shown with a Smith & Wesson Model 19 Classic. Both feature a six shot cylinder and a 4” barrel.
The cylinder release on the K6 is a checkered button that has nicely rounded edges.

The shape of the trigger guard is elongated to provide ample room for shooters with large fingers or who may be wearing gloves. The hammer spur is nicely shaped with a checkered cocking surface. The trigger is polished with radiused edges. The contour of the barrel is more teardrop than oval and has a full underlug. The K6 muzzle is cleanly beveled and contoured. The stocks are a compact, three groove, combat style that are nicely checkered and extend slightly below the frame. The design fills the space behind the trigger and serves to protect the knuckle of the middle finger during recoil. They are very compact and ideal for concealed carry. Removing the grips reveals that the actual frame is almost identical, in shape and size, to a J-frame Smith & Wesson.

The elongated trigger guard provides plenty of space for large fingers. The trigger is polished with radiused edges.
The hammer has a checkered cocking surface and is profiled so it does not interfere with the rear sight.
Kimber has radiused and beveled the muzzle on the K6.                        
The factory Combat stocks provide a positive purchase for most shooters. The butt of the frame is close to the size of a Smith & Wesson J-frame.

The K6’s action, on our test gun, was very smooth with no grit or stacking. The single action was crisp and broke cleanly at 4 lbs. For those not familiar with the K6 guns, the double action is different. The lock up is very positive and the remainder of the trigger pull is smooth and consistent.

The low profile rear sight is a snag free design but provides for a quick sight picture.
The front sight is a pinned, black blade with a single white dot. Tritium and fiber optic sights are available as an option.

The K6 sights are some of the best on the market. While they are low profile, they present a fast and positive sight picture. The profile of the rear sight is blended into the top strap and the rear of the frame and the edges are beveled. This eliminates any sharp edges that could cut the shooter’s hand or abrade clothing. The rear sight is buried in the frame via a dovetail and is similar in sight picture to a Novak 1911 rear sight. The front sight is a fixed post that is pinned in place. I found the three white dots easy to align.

Range Time

Range time was somewhat limited due to the COVID 19 panic and the bare shelves at the local shops. I dug into the locker and broke out some Federal .357 Magnum, 158 grain Hydra Shoks, Speer .38 Special, 125 grain Gold Dots, and some Lawman .38 Special, 125 grain TMJ’s. The smooth action made the K6 Combat a joy to shoot. As with the other K6 models, I noticed that the lockup of the cylinder occurred quicker than on a Smith & Wesson. This reduced the trigger pull after lockup and made the double action shots very easy. It was especially helpful when shooting at longer ranges or shooting groups for this review.

We tested the K6 Combat with three different loads. The .38 Special loads were the most enjoyable and enabled us to get the most out of the K6.
The diameter of the K6 cylinder is the smallest of any six shot, .357 Magnum, on the market. The recessed chambers are a nice touch.

The Hydra Shok averaged 1,260 fps and produced significant recoil. The Gold Dot load averaged 868 fps while the Lawman load averaged a very mild 831 fps. The Hydra Shok magnums were a handful, especially given the small boot stocks. As with other smaller frame revolvers, the K6 Combat is best suited for a high performance +P .38 Special. This has a number of advantages, to include easier follow-up shots, reduced recoil, and extending the service life of the pistol.

Gunfights happen very quickly and, most of the time, at very close ranges. I shot the Kimber K6s using a modified 10-10-10 drill. The drill is shot using an NRA, 25-yard, bullseye target, and is scored using the numbered rings. For revolvers, I modify the drill by firing 5 shots, in 5 seconds, from 7 yards. I shoot the drill twice on the same target for a total of 10 rounds. The K6 Combat performed well but, on the second string, I let the gun ride high left. I lost two rounds into the 9 ring and one round into the 8 ring. I shot the drill cold and always claim my first score. In this case, it was a 96/100.

The target from the modified 10-10-10 drill reflects a score of 96. It was shot from 7 yards with a par time of 5 seconds for each 5 round set.

I did notice two issues that the K6 Combat shares with the other K6 pistols. The first is the shape of the stocks at the top of the frame. The top edges of the stocks, while beveled, are still significantly square enough to cause some discomfort when shooting magnum loads. This is easily resolved by simply rounding the edges a little more. The second issue is more significant. Kimber chose to retain the shorter ejection rod found on the 2” barrel models instead of lengthening it for the 3” and 4” models. As a result, the K6 has a shorter ejection stroke than most 4” barreled revolvers. It would be nice if this was changed in future models.

Kimber uses the same ejection rod on the Combat as they do on their 2” guns. This can result in a failure to extract with the longer magnum loads.

I do wish there were more options for aftermarket stocks. VZ Grips offers two models but both are boot stocks that are actually smaller than the factory stocks. Hogue offers their Monogrip and Bantangrip and Altamont offers stocks similar to the factory shapes. Still, these are smaller boot stock designs and I would like to see a larger service style stock. If I have missed an option, please let me know in the comments below.

The factory Combat grips fit the frame well. Another nice feature is the serrated backstrap.
In the end, the K6 DASA Combat offers a lot of features in a quality made revolver.

The Kimber Store carries a full line of accessories to include holsters from Galco, speed loaders, stocks, and replacement sights. I appreciate a manufacturer that supports their products making it a one-stop-shop.

I found the Kimber to be well thought out and superbly executed. In a world of polymer wonder nines, I appreciate that Kimber has dedicated significant resources to designing and manufacturing a solid wheelgun. Kimber has also announced a K6 DASA Target model that has a 4” barrel and an adjustable rear sight.

Some will contest the K6 Combat’s MSRP of $989.00. For comparison, the MSRP of the Smith & Wesson Model 19 Classic is $843.00 and the MSRP for the Colt King Cobra is $999.00. I would remind readers that a quality revolver is more complex to manufacture than most semi-auto pistols.

In my opinion, the K6 series of revolvers are some of the best personal defense revolvers on the market. If you have not taken a look at the Kimber series of revolvers, consider visiting them at Kimber K6 line of revolvers.

Kimber K6s Combat Specifications
Caliber.357 Magnum
Height5”
Length8.62”
Weight25.5 oz.
Cylinder Capacity6 rounds
ActionDouble Action Only
Barrel4”
SightsFixed 3-Dot
StocksSmooth Walnut
MaterialStainless Steel
MSRP$989.00

 For more information visit Kimber America website.

Buy and Sell on GunsAmerica! All Local Sales are FREE!

{ 49 comments… add one }
  • James P. November 3, 2021, 9:50 pm

    Where is the point of impact with varying loads – .38 Spl and .357 Mag – with the semi-fixed rear sight? Asking solely about elevation since the rear sight can be drifted L or R for windage. Would it be correct to assume that it is regulated for 158 grain loads?

    Obviously Kimber makes a Target model with fully adjustable rear but the sights on those stick up quite a bit, they look more like afterthoughts. Really like the low profile of the combat model rear and front blade but if it shoots way high or low that would be kind of a deal breaker.

  • FirstStateMark November 6, 2020, 1:39 pm

    I don’t care what anyone thinks but I’ll say it right here. “Kimbers wheel guns are UGLY” . There, I said it. Nothing will every beat the looks of the wheel guns of the 60’s and 70’s by S&W, Ruger & Colt. The model 19 , the security six and the python. Just plain beautiful.

  • Todd November 6, 2020, 10:39 am

    Looks like a fine addition to their revolver line. I applaud them.

    I wonder how I’d like it compared to my S&W 66? The Kimber sure looks like a smoother draw.

    As to that horrible picture one the crown. Is that tool-chatter, powder flash or a combination of the two? I should expect this pistol at its price and finish to have that polished.

    Also – regarding “combat”…. Is there any chamfering to the chambers and is it even realistic on a recessed cylinder?

    Todd.

    • Garrett Rob November 8, 2020, 3:25 pm

      The crown is dirty but there are some chatter marks. The chambers are not chamfered. I don’t think It is as necessary.

      Thanks

      • Todd November 12, 2020, 4:00 pm

        Thank you.

        Todd.

  • Eric November 6, 2020, 9:18 am

    Rob, I really appreciated the write up and the good photos. I’ve been trying to understand where this thing is size wise, compared to the J and K frame Smiths. The picture of the frame with the grips off really helped me grok the size of the Kimber.

    Personally, I’d like to see them roll out a medium or a large frame. Be neat to see a large framed Kimber in .45 acp with moon clips, with a 4″ barrel.

    I’m not quite ready to ditch my 642 for daily carry, but that Kimber would look pretty good next to my gp100. Hmm…

    • Garrett Rob November 8, 2020, 3:26 pm

      Thanks Eric. The K6 will never replace a J frame! It give one a nice option for belt carry.

  • DT November 6, 2020, 7:46 am

    You’ll have to ask for updated photos as Kimber has left Yonkers, NY forTroy, Alabama (location stamp on frame) per sister article.

  • Charlemagne November 3, 2020, 3:28 am

    Interesting gun but I suspect it’s nowhere near as strong as my SP101.

    • MPGunther November 6, 2020, 11:15 am

      👍 totally agree, IMHO my Rugers are great ❤🤍💙

    • Warren Husted November 11, 2020, 9:52 am

      I own a colt magnum carry, Ruger SP 101 Taurus revolvers and S&W revolvers and own two Kimber revolvers DASA K6s, a standard K6s. The Kimber revolvers I own have a amazing trigger pull and beat all the other revolvers with fit and finish. I been in law enforcement for over 40 years and the only gun I carry is the Kimber.

  • Marty November 2, 2020, 7:54 pm

    I am still saving my money for one of the new Colt Pythons. Have had my heart set on one for years!

    • Amircar Alvarado January 29, 2021, 7:27 am

      I own a colt Python that I purchase in 1981, 2.5 inc barrel, niquel plated that I need to sell….I was then in law enforcement…not needed now…

  • Rich November 2, 2020, 6:43 pm

    I bought the DA only with the 3″ barrel last year. I found the grips ok but I have xxl hands. I did change the grips to Hogue and it holds better. I found the recoil manageable with .357 loads. It was to be carried with spl hp loads. I say was because the spouse has claimed that revolver as her’s. She really likes shooting it. It is not cheap but high quality and very well made. 5star.com makes speed loaders for the Kimber and those work slick.

  • Grant Abrahamson November 2, 2020, 4:54 pm

    Wow.. What a beautiful revolver. British doubles have nothing on Kimber..

  • Andrew Dawson November 2, 2020, 4:31 pm

    Can’t wait to read all the comments about how this pistol is too expensive or ‘nice, but I’ll keep my xxxyyyzzz blah, blah, blah’

    • MPGunther November 6, 2020, 11:17 am

      Well, this is an opinion page

  • Leonard Stephen November 2, 2020, 4:31 pm

    Sorry, but this is not finished the way I like it. I have a 3” Model 13 from the 1970s and put a dab of orange enamel on the front sight, did my trigger job, and could not ask for more.
    This gun looks like it is an “almost there” gun. In stainless, I would prefer a bigger Ruger because it handles the heavier loads. I do like the idea of using the J-Frame Smith type action, as that is the smoothest in my opinion for triggers and they are easy to do a trigger job, but something is a bit off.
    Somebody above mentioned this gun would be great in .44 Spl, but the response was it would not fit the frame. Of course, but you can make a bit larger frame to accomodate the cylinder.

  • AMO November 2, 2020, 12:11 pm

    In reference to the following, excerpted from Cea’s post:

    “But unfortunately, the crown on mine was not centered on the bore. It was a very early production 4” gun and it may have been just missed in inspection. But I sent it back to Kimber and they did nothing to correct the problem.”

    Ah, Kimber…what to say?

    Maybe “Purveyors of fine and occasionally innovative products, backed by the worst customer service in the industry!”

    I own or have owned several of their guns and SO WANT to continue to support this American company, but it’s getting tougher and tougher, especially when I read things like that. How does something like that even happen, let alone make it past QA/QC at the factory? Then, when sent back for correction, nothing is done?! Inexcusable.

    Kimber’s products range from very good to absolutely phenomenal (e.g., “”Super America” grade rifles), but in my experience, their customer service is indifferent at best, and sometimes downright surly.

    Mistakes? Sure, no problem…we all make ’em. But how long can a company show such flagrant and cynical disregard for its customers and expect to stay in business?

    • johnh November 18, 2020, 5:30 pm

      Every maker puts out a lemon some times. Ask the early buyers of the SIG mosquito, My brother had a Ruger American in 308 that the chamber had not been reamed. Rugers single 7s when they first came out did not have the loading gate opened wide enough. But Ruger fixed those problems quickly.

  • The Bearded Pretender November 2, 2020, 11:34 am

    A Defense Gun?
    Let me know when this “Defense” gun takes Moon Clips and has 8 rounds, until then “No Thanks”

  • Tommy Barros November 2, 2020, 11:22 am

    REALLY? STICK with Smith & Wesson… THEY are the Wheel Gun standard… WHY go anywhere else for MORE MONEY… REALLY?

    BTW .357 Magnum is Highly OVERRATED, OVER powered and OVER penetrates! I’ll stick with old reliable .38 special with WHOMPER STOMPER loads!

    • Al November 6, 2020, 11:54 am

      Great article. I wondered at the size of the Kimber and action type.

      Smaller than smiths K frame is good. Maybe a bit light for mag ammo but compared to Smith J frames, maybe it’s “just right”. A carry gun size.

      Strange combining the J & the K frames. Good idea tho, using the coil spring. Should be a bit smother and more consistent than a K frame.

      Short ejector rod fix is technique. train using gravity to help extraction. We had troubles with unburned powder getting under the star. Hit the rod multiple times even after spent cases are removed.

      I’m from the day we used Colt & Smith wheel guns. Six for sure was comforting. Hope Kimber much success. Looks like a neat addition to the revolver world. Thanks for the review.

  • William November 2, 2020, 9:34 am

    At first glance this revolver looks unusual but nicely made and finished. It is on the small side for a .357 Magnum gun, but I guess that was Kimber’s intent. I think the 4″ barrel model would be more useful if it had a larger more comfortable grip, especially to mitigate the recoil of .357 Magnum or .38 Special +P loads. In comparison to the S&W Model 19, the Kimber is unfortunately an ugly duckling. The individual features of the Kimber look OK and are certainly functional, but when combined they form a very odd looking revolver.

    • Garrett Rob November 2, 2020, 12:38 pm

      William, they made the barrel 4.25” so it meets the import specifications for Canada. Thanks for your comments.

    • Rob Garrett November 2, 2020, 5:53 pm

      William,
      I agree that Kimber, and the after market grip makers, need to offer more options for the K6 series. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. I felt the same way when they first came out. They tend to grow in you. Thanks for the comment.

  • Billy November 2, 2020, 9:11 am

    Well looks like somebody finally is recognizing that RUGER GP100 would be a great fun to copy. The a Ruger has been around for years and as far as I’m concerned never got the credit it deserved. I’m sure the Kimber is a great pistol but for the dollar value the The Ruger can’t be beat. Oh why wasn’t it listed in comparison as was the S&W and the Colt????????

    • Garrett Rob November 2, 2020, 12:39 pm

      The GP-100 is more comparable with an L frame Smith. The Kimber is closer to a K frame.

  • Randy Cooper November 2, 2020, 8:48 am

    I spend a lot of time in the woods working on our place. My carry gun is the K6s 3” DASA and it has been excellent. It’s carried in an OWB canted holster and I don’t even know I’m wearing it. Whether running a chainsaw or my Bobcat, it’s never in the way. I’ve changed to Hogue one-piece grips, because while the stock wooden grips look good, they aren’t comfortable to shoot with when using full magnum loads. This revolver has an excellent trigger and is very accurate. Good sight acquisition. Had considered a Colt King Cobra and a couple of Smith’s, but the weight and size difference definitely favors the Kimber. This is a keeper for the long haul. RC

    • Garrett Rob November 2, 2020, 5:54 pm

      Randy, glad you like your K6.

  • Jim November 2, 2020, 8:35 am

    Looks nice enough but no reason to trade in my 1970’s Model 19 or Ruger Security Six.

    • Irish-7 November 3, 2020, 1:23 am

      Those are my choices in .357 Magnum as well. I also own a Ruger GP-100, but have not fired it yet. I’m hoping it is just as good as the Security-6 model it replaced. Review of the Kimber mentions issues with shooting .357 MAG loads, as though it is uncomfortable, or does not mitigate recoil. I never noticed this with either the S&W 19 or the Security-6, including one Ruger with a 2.5 inch barrel.

  • Cea November 2, 2020, 7:53 am

    I love these guns! More specifically, the triggers on these guns! I have a 3 year old 3” DAO and picked up a 4” DASA Target model this spring. My 3” gun is extremely accurate, usually able to put 6 rd in 4”-5” at 25 yd! Though I wish Kimber made the adjustable sights available for all the models, as it shoots a bit low at most distances regardless of the chosen ammo. The triggers on both are FAR superior to those on any of my 12 S&W revolvers.
    The 4” gun should be as accurate or even more so. But unfortunately, the crown on mine was not centered on the bore. It was a very early production 4” gun and it may have been just missed in inspection. But I sent it back to Kimber and they did nothing to correct the problem. It was shooting 6”-8” groups at only 10 yd! And at 25 yd, it was embarrassing, with 12”+, groups.
    I ended up taking it Mag Na Port and had them re-crown it for $75. Now, it shoots into less than 2” at 10 yd. I haven’t shot it yet at 25 yd, but I am expecting a huge improvement at that distance too.
    Accuracy issues aside, overall these are the best revolvers that I have fired. I shoot PPC with revolvers, firing 5,500 revolver rd a year, and I know what a smooth shooting revolver is all about.

    • El Clavo November 2, 2020, 10:25 am

      They might make a nice gun as you describe but after reading about how Kimber service treated you, I wouldn’t ANYTHING from that crowd!

  • William Fissel November 2, 2020, 7:39 am

    Now if they’d just offer seven or eight shot options like Smith & Wesson’s excellent 686 Plus & 627 revolvers…….

    • Garrett Rob November 2, 2020, 12:42 pm

      They would have to develop a larger frame. The K6 cylinder is the smallest diameter, 6 shot, .357 Magnum on the market. Thanks for your comment.

  • Newell D Anderson November 2, 2020, 7:37 am

    Over the years I have had the ejector stroke shortened on several revolvers. This reduces the possibility of an empty shell case getting caught under the ejector star during a rapid reload. This not a new idea. Fitzgerald suggests it in his book in 1930!!

  • Daniel November 2, 2020, 7:08 am

    I’m sure it’s an excellent firearm, but it looks like a boxtruck

    • Gregory Greenwood November 2, 2020, 8:37 am

      I was very skeptical when I first saw them. I’m not a big Kimber 1911 fan in the first place and these revolvers aren’t the prettiest. But when you get them in hand and dry fire them a few times… wow! Great size and one of the all time best trigger pulls I’ve ever felt on a stock revolver.

      I just have so many .357’s already… and I doubt I would CCW one. I keep hoping Kimber will surprise us with something “truly different.” Maybe a 3″ DAO .44 Special? I assume they could get five of them in there. Or a seven shot .327? A 2 or 3″ 9mm might even tempt me into getting one for some CCW situations.

      • Garrett Rob November 2, 2020, 12:43 pm

        I’d love to see a 3” K6 in 9mm. The frame can’t accommodate a 5 shot .44 Special cylinder. Thanks for your comments.

    • Charlemagne November 3, 2020, 3:39 am

      It’s not as good looking as that Model 19 or the SP101 but it’s a raving beauty next to the Chiappa Rhino!

  • Bob November 2, 2020, 6:37 am

    Waiting for a 4” version and struggling to get by with my 3 Kimber 357 revolvers (1 2” and 2 3”). They are superb in every way and I am a convert. Just got new Hogue rubber one piece grip that fits both SADA AND hammerless versions and it fixes square edges on factory grips. Highly recommend these guns but I have to save up for them. They are worth it.

    • Tom November 6, 2020, 9:24 am

      The short ejection rod really limits ammo selection to .38 spl. lengths to avoid malfunctions that could cost you your life. That literally is a fatal flaw and not worth the risk of using .357 length ammo.

  • Holt Spivey November 2, 2020, 5:39 am

    Is it double action only and if so Why

    • Gregory Greenwood November 2, 2020, 8:33 am

      The ones with the hammer are DA/SA.

    • Winslow Potter November 2, 2020, 10:08 am

      DASA: Duble Action Single Action

  • Bill November 2, 2020, 5:04 am

    Accuracy?? Scores of groups are ok, but accuracy of the gun is important also!

    • Garrett Rob November 2, 2020, 12:45 pm

      Most production guns are more accurate than most shooters, including me. Unfortunately, I don’t have access to a machine rest. I wish I did. Thanks

  • Dr. Strangelove November 2, 2020, 4:32 am

    I replaced the grips on my 4″ Target with Hogue, I’m not home, so I can’t tell you the exact model. However, they do help tame the recoil of the more stout loads. Great shooting revolver.

Leave a Comment

Send this to a friend