12 Gauge ‘No FFL’ Pistol – Full Review – Diablo – American Gun Craft

Probably the most popular article of 2019 in our Friday, “GunsAmerica This Week” email was the discovery of a new 12 gauge handgun from American Gun Craft. It’s called the Diablo.

Already the many of you who missed that article are saying, “What?! How can you legally make a 12 gauge pistol?” Well, this one isn’t only a pistol, it also requires no FFL, and can be mailed straight to your door!

The Diablo from American Gun Craft offers several handle options and barrel finishes (Photo: AGC)

The Diablo is a black powder, percussion firearm, similar to an inline deer hunting muzzleloader. And just like many of those guns, it uses a 209 shot gun shell primer for ignition. You load it from the front with black powder or a black powder substitute, and whatever projectile you intend to use. Then the cap rests on a protected nipple in the rear. A lot of modern muzzleloaders have adapted the tried and true break open shotgun methodology, and this is a a surprisingly nice shotgun attempt at a similar design.

That detail makes the Diablo officially not a firearm according to the Federal government, and not subject to National Firearms Act restrictions. There is no way to load the Diablo with a regular shotgun shell, or any fixed ammunition, and whatever you do, do not attempt to use smokeless powder.

As a brief but worthy aside, there used to be an old “trick” with black powder guns to drop a couple flakes of a handgun cartridge powder called Unique in before the charge, but if someone offers you that advice, don’t take it. It’s not as hard as most people think to turn a firearm into a pipe bomb. Even though there are some great slow burning powders these days from Hodgdon these days, remember that the way powder companies make money is by getting guns to shoot bullets faster under reasonable pressures. If there was a way to beat Triple Se7en safetly (loads explained below), Hodgdon would do it.

You can get a Diablo shipped right to your front door. (Photo: AGC)

For simple operation, you can’t make a gun much simpler to use than a muzzleloader, and the Diablo is no different. But there is one major difference between a rifle that is loaded from the front and a shotgun that is loaded from the front.

With a rifle, you press the bullet, sabot, or ball into the muzzle using a ball-shaped loading tool. This forces the lands and grooves of the rifling to cut into the projectile or its surrounding material, and as your ramrod follows the projectile down to the powder, it turns with the rifling and makes for a very snug fit.

As pictured with wood grips and a blued finish the Diablo goes for $479. (Photo: AGC)

With a muzzleloading shotgun, you don’t have the luxury of rifling to hold your projectile or projectiles in, and in the case of loose shot, keeping it in there can be very difficult. As I explained in the video, I actually used to carry a sawed off muzzleloading shotgun as part of my Cowboy Action Shooting wardrobe. I made a leather thigh holster for it myself, and would shoot it in side matches. Many times I would raise the gun to shoot it and the shot would roll out the front. It was hilarious. But the Diablo isn’t a fun gun. It’s what I would call a dead in the dirt gun. If it comes out, someone’s going to be dead in the dirt.

Fortunately for this article, I was able to order several different options for wads, and one of them turned out to be perfect for the Diablo. As you’ll see from the video, things came together very nicely for this gun. The links for all of the loading components are below. Note that I mistakenly used the overshot wads over the powder, and vice-versa. But hey it worked great.

The Diablo really liked having the powder trapped against the breech with an overpowder wad, and these wads from Dixie Gunworks fit exactly. I mistakenly used the thinner overshot wads over the powder, and the thicker over the shot, but it worked great, held the buckshot in tightly, and I didn’t feel like they were ever in danger of coming out.

The included video is just over an hour long, and I left a bunch of stuff out, as you can tell by comparing the loading table components to how many of them are in the video.

Blackpowder is a very different animal when it comes to gun reviews. When you don’t have a ready-made cartridge available, really anything is possible, ranging from a completely impish nothing load, right up to dangerous loads that will blow up your gun. As explained in the video, these are my personal experiments that I am documenting for you, not advice as to how to load and shoot the Diablo. You are responsible for your own safe operation of the gun.

I started with the manufacturer’s suggested load, 40 grains of FFG black powder and one half an ounce of lead. In my own experience with black powder firearms, I knew that this was kind of a joke, but tried it anyway. At 7 yards, which is the average gunfight distance, both the suggested 4 balls of OO buckshot, and 1/2 oz of #8 birdshot bounced off of a piece of plywood, right back at me. You can actually hear it on the video.

Note that the half-cock on the Diablo will drop if you push the trigger hard enough. It is not a locked trigger.

My gut feeling was that 70 grains of powder would be the sweet spot with this gun, but it was not. If you want to see how a great deal of the learning experience unfolded, watch the video. My feeling on 70 grains was because that’s what a 45-70 rifle uses, and the projectile on that cartridge for long-range shooting is about an ounce, similar to a traditional shotgun load.

There must be some dynamic of a larger 72 caliber 12 gauge shotgun breach size is dramatically different than a 45 caliber width. Perhaps it is that there is much more room to fill up before the pressure starts to ramp. I don’t know really, but it’s something. The 70 grain load had very little recoil, and lame penetration.

The burn rate of the powder was also a factor. The manufacturer suggests FFG powder, which is traditionally used in rifles and shotguns. In my tests, this did not prove to be the best choice. I tried both real black powder and Hodgdon Pyrodex RS (which is the FFG equivalent), so I quickly moved to the FFFG variety of Hodgdon Triple Se7en. That extra F means the powder burns quicker, and it is made for black powder handguns. With the 6″ barrel of the Diablo, there was zero chance that FFG was the right choice.

Triple Se7en itself is a newer black powder substitute from Hodgdon that has now been around at least for a decade. I first tried it shooting long range black powder cartridge rifles (The Sharps, Winchester Highwall, Remington Rolling Block, etc.), and found it to be amazingly consistent. It is also much like smokeless powder in that it does not begin to rust your firearm as soon as the smoke clears. And it doesn’t crap up your bore with soot. I shot the Diablo almost 30 times, with just an occasional dry swab every several shots, and there was no buildup whatsoever. With real Black Powder, after two to three shots it is impossible to get the same sized projectile down the barrel.

Shooting the Diablo with my “sweet spot” load was not pleasant, but this is not a gun that you find a pleasant load to shoot.

My “sweet spot” load of the FFFG Triple Se7en was 100 grains, held down by an overpowder wad. Above that is one ounce of lead, in various flavors of buckshot, with an overshot wad. For one oz slugs, which are very tight in the Diablo, you can just push them in and they don’t require a wad to hold them in.

One ounce is pretty standard in 12 guage shotgun loads. They can go up a bit from there, and I think that the final slugs I used were actually 1 1/16th ounces, but my constant throughout most of these tests was one ounce. This is twice what the manufacturer recommends, and generally what you’ll find in a .410 shotgun. So I don’t know. But it does seem that the manufacturer is not taking responsibility for genuine tests of the gun, waiting for saps like me to try to remember to put the safety glasses on while testing their firearm for them.

Loading slugs in the Diablo was challenging, but the gun is built to be it’s own loading stand.

The key to the buckshot loads for me was the use of a standard Remington shot cup, one that you’ll find in shotgun shell reloading components. I found that when I used the cup, it kept the shot on the target, and gave much better penetration. My focus was OO buck and #4 buck, and stopped the birdshot after my initial trial, but I think this gun could serve even as an effective short range survival bird gun. The shot cup really made a huge difference.

The slugs in the Diablo performed really well, penetrating 3 layers of 3/4″ plywood.

Once I settled into a load, penetration tests with the Diablo were very impressive. Both OO and #4 buckshot penetrated a 3/4″ plywood board, and the slugs went through 3 of them. At the end, I tried a second type of slug, and that hammered through all three boards and blew out the back of the third, so there is room for further testing.

Both OO and #4 buckshot penetrated one piece of 3/4″ plywood at 7 yards, with a very reasonable spread, once I settled on the shot cup methodology.

The fit and finish of the Diablo are average. I was sent the plastic grips, and it isn’t what I would call an impressive-looking firearm, but hey, very few of you will be buying the Diablo for display lol.

At $479 in this configuration, the Diablo is not a cheap gun, but I think very reasonable, and with the wood grips and nickel finish it never reaches above $589. The holster in the video is another $129, and is very nice. My advice is to order the wood grips, which I will use for my next article on this gun. I’m no fan of the two finger grip decision for this gun, but if you only have two fingers, I would rather have wood.

The folks at American Gun Craft sent one of their $129 crossdraw holsters. It’s very nice, and worth every penny if you plan to open carry the Diablo. I show you in the video that the strap is designed to to over the cocked hammer, providing an effective safety. Because the gun can be fired on half cock, if you plan to carry the Diablo, purchase the holster. They offer both right and left hand.

I saw no evidence of pressure problems with my load of 100 grains of Triple Se7en and a one-ounce projectile. The gun locks up really tight, and after over 20 rounds there was almost no burned powder residue in the action. If there were serious pressure problems, you would generally see the primer flattened against the breach by the blowback, and at the very least the primers would be difficult to remove.

My very last round in the Diablo for the day was a different slug (Lightfield, links below), and had been more difficult to seat than the red ones, and even harder to seat than the other barrel. Maybe I had finally accumulated some crud in that barrel, but more likely the slug had a small burr, and that made it really snug. It also turned out that those slugs are 1 1/16th ounce, not one ounce. And when I shot it through three boards, it kicked like a mule, tore through the 2 1/4″ of plywood like nothing I had seen before, and (drum roll please), that cap did not come off with fingernails. So I think I my tests were probably pushing the platform to about where you would want to go not much further. Just my experience. None of my tests are meant to be advice.

I show you a rudimentary cleaning at the end of the video. I’m not one of those guys who takes guns apart every time I clean them, and when I’m shooting Triple Se7en, I don’t generally even take out the nipples. One reason I didn’t do this with the Diablo is that the manufacturer does not send you a nipple wrench. It would behoove you to bring a socket that fits the nipples, because it is very common to brain fart when you shoot muzzleloaders, forgetting if you put the powder in before the bullet. Taking apart the back end is not required on the Diablo, shooting Triple Se7en. The breachface had very little residue at all.

 Cleaning the Diablo is easy with soap and water. The gun locks up really tight and almost no burnt powder gets in the action. Using Triple Se7en as I did, soap and water are all you need.

Is the gun pleasant to shoot? No, not at that loading. As I said, I am not a fan of the two-finger grip approach, and I hope the manufacturer offers a full hand option with a more traditional grip angle at some point. I have a habit of shooting single-action handguns one-handed from my old Cowboy Action Shooting days, and I ended up with the hammer lodged in the web of my thumb when I was not paying close attention to a good hold.

I would also be remiss if I did not mention the legalities of the Diablo.

If this gun attracts you because there is no other way that you can legally own a handgun, watch the end of the video. I explain the some of the legal issues of the Diablo. By Federal law, it can be shipped to your door, and right now the manufacturer is willing to ship it to anyone anywhere, regardless of state laws that may include this gun. For the most part, we as firearm enthusiasts tend to be law-abiding and it is important that you figure out your own laws, including the caselaw for your state, before you order this gun. Always remember, if it’s too good to be true, it’s not true.

A limited-edition “Brass & Blue” Diablo. (Photo: AGC)

Overall the Diablo is a huge score of a firearm. For those of us who live in the less restrictive gun states, there is no problem with the gun at all. You can legally own and even carry a devastating 12 gauge pistol. It has impressive ballistics, works really well, and the manufacturer has partnered with a high quality leathersmith to create a gorgeous and functional crossdraw holster for open carry. Beat that right.

Links:

***Buy and Sell on GunsAmerica! All Local Sales are FREE!*** 

{ 97 comments… add one }
  • jason mabry August 3, 2020, 12:51 am

    Great article. I just found out about this gun and would love to get it. My question is due to legality. The site claims california compliant. Would you know anything that would not make this true? Usualy any of the cool guns are not alowed to be here. Id hate to get this, take it to a range and a game warden decides its not legal

  • Paul Huber July 28, 2020, 4:50 pm

    Someone made a cool pistol, read, watch , learn by doing some research. Either buy it or not. Make wise choices.
    The following is something I heard years ago. “ why would you let common sense and
    Gravity hold you back” think about …

  • KEN WATSON June 19, 2020, 2:47 pm

    I FOUND SOME REMINGTON 303 AMMO THATS GOT TO BE 70 YEARS OLD. I DON’T THINK IT’S ANY GOOD. HOW SHOULD I GET RID OF IT. KW

    • Michael J. Salfai June 26, 2020, 8:22 am

      Unless the ammo is badly corroded it should be fine. I have shot ammo much older than that. Most of the 8mm Mauser ammo I am currently shooting was manufactured in the 1940’s.

  • Justin shhhh-ort May 31, 2020, 2:58 am

    i just ordered mine! i was so happy and excited… then in the order confirmed page after i paid i see in small text at the bottom og the page.. “may take upto 8+ weeks to ship. typical shipping 8-10 weeks”…… mannnn, what a bummer. at least ill get mine close to my birthday in a few months.

    • Justin shhhhh-ort August 4, 2020, 1:38 pm

      i received mine in the 2nd week of july! long wait, but Dee in CS kept me up to date with any questions or updates i wanted! truly worth the wait. Anything good is worth waiting for!

  • rob May 17, 2020, 1:06 pm

    can you fire a 12ga shotgun shell in the diablo pistol?

    • justin shhh-ort May 31, 2020, 2:59 am

      no. black powder and lead shot/ball/slug only with 209 primers…

  • Lance lacich May 4, 2020, 8:41 pm

    Is there a phone number I can call and order my Diablo , powder , shot , etc. also my holster ???

  • Anthony C Coscione April 22, 2020, 8:55 am

    In your very first loading of the Diablo, you reversed the over-powder and over-shot wads!
    You put the over-shot wad over the powder, and the over-powder wad over the shot.

  • Mike February 4, 2020, 3:46 pm

    Paul,
    I’ve never shot a black powder gun before so excuse my ignorance, please.
    In your article this is what you wrote,” It would behoove you to bring a socket that fits the nipples, because it is very common to brain fart when you shoot muzzleloaders, forgetting if you put the powder in before the bullet.”
    My question is, shouldn’t the powder go in before the bullet? Or what am I missing?
    Thanks,
    Mike

    • Mike Perie April 14, 2020, 1:00 pm

      Please do not buy this gun….if you don’t know that the powder is always under the bullet, shot, etc. then you are way to stupid to own it.

    • Greg S. May 11, 2020, 12:51 am

      Mike,

      You are correct. What the author was referring to is the situation where you get distracted while loading and *think* that you already poured in the powder, so you put in the slug. Then you go to shoot it, pull the trigger, the primer goes off, and there is no boom – nothing exits the barrel. You now have to get the round out of the barrel before you can reload it. It’s usually a difficult process. If you have a traditional side lock firearm (matchlock, flintlock, percussion lock) or if you have a more modern one that uses 209 primers, but you forgot your nipple wrench, then you need a “ball puller” that you screw into the front of the slug, and pull it out the front – difficult and time consuming (though it’s easier with a smoothbore that with a rifled barrel). If you have a more modern one and have the nipple wrench with you, then you can remove the nipple and use the rod to push it out – not nearly as bad. Hence the phrase “powder, patch, then ball, or it won’t fire at all” that many people say in their head as they are loading their black powder guns. 🙂

  • Dwayne Baker February 2, 2020, 10:50 pm

    Could you all please send me a Book on those Guns, !

  • Alan faraone January 29, 2020, 8:43 am

    I sell firearms I have an ATF license I specifically remember them sending a letter out on black powder saying anything that can be converted to Centerfire is illegal and must have a form

    • Drewstrex April 5, 2020, 9:39 am

      ATF stands for always taking firearms.
      You are an enemy of the 2nd amendment!!

    • Justin shhhh-ort August 4, 2020, 1:43 pm

      I.m pretty sure this gun cannot be converted into a cartridge firing weapon. the breech end has some hefty threads and would need re drilled. even then i don’t thing the steel would be strong enough to withstand the pressures. MAYBE.. and i mean MAYBE you could design a breech plug that would take 410 shells, but then you have a 12 gauge barrel to bounce the rounds out of… so all in all pretty impossible to make this shoot shells

  • WALTER WOOD January 27, 2020, 6:51 pm

    PLEASE CHANGE THE BATTERY IN YOUR SMOKE ALARM !!!

  • Joe nardo January 27, 2020, 6:06 pm

    The triple 777 magnum pellets are 60 grains each. How many did you put of those in each barrel?

  • Herman January 27, 2020, 6:55 am

    I am not sure the cool factor is worth the $500. &$600 for this wall piece. I love guns and yes I want one.

    • Mike April 14, 2020, 1:10 pm

      Yes, it is very cool looking….But it is in no way worth the $500+ cost for one.

  • Michael Lorrey January 25, 2020, 11:06 pm

    How about pouring candle wax in a wadded up cluster of buckshot? That should keep your shot together while holstered yet break them apart once fired.

    • Albert B Thompson April 26, 2020, 1:23 pm

      I use a Win Western AA 12 ga shotgun wad cup to hold 7 pellets of 000 Buck over my 100 grains of 777 fff. I use an over powder wad, then the wad cup w/shot, then an over shot wad. Last, but not least, I pour about a quarter teaspoon of melted paraffin on top of the over shot wad to keep the loads secure. This is particularly important with the heavy powder load, as firing the first bbl can dislodge the load in the remaining bbl, just as heavy revolver loads in a 44 mag or five shot 45 Colt can pull the bullets if they are not crimped well enough.

  • Richard Hernandez January 25, 2020, 6:51 pm

    I’m interested in pushing one, can I get more information as to how to own one,, thanks Richard H.

  • Cookie Summers January 25, 2020, 5:01 pm

    How do you get one

  • Cookie Summers January 25, 2020, 4:59 pm

    Never seen anything like it very interesting.

    • Calixto Torres January 26, 2020, 4:44 pm

      I want one how much for that beautiful gun

  • Daniel Fairman January 25, 2020, 10:23 am

    I really like The idea of a double barrel shotgun pistol that I seen on your website I would like more info on it

  • Jonny5 January 25, 2020, 9:32 am

    Black powder pistols are legal in NYS, as long as you don’t load them. Then, they’re a felony.

    • Real Deal May 17, 2020, 6:19 am

      noooo ……. seriously………….. is this the onion

  • Dan Granader January 24, 2020, 3:19 pm

    Just received my Diablo! Beautiful piece of work very tight very well-made ! Trying it out this weekend!

    • Leon PAUL Merriweather May 18, 2020, 2:21 pm

      how long did it take to get yours?

  • Armando January 24, 2020, 11:02 am

    Can you point it into your palm and hand a few more times, just to show how the 4 BFR don’t matter

    • Ti January 25, 2020, 6:58 pm

      I read, but didn’t watch. Then I watched video.

  • 2brknot2bfree January 24, 2020, 10:40 am

    I’m not a large handed person being a diminutive 5’6, having shrunk an inch in the last 30 years. Is this grip you described adequate enough for someone my size? Is this something that may be carried in a Cabela’s or such that I can try before I buy.

  • Moses Lee January 24, 2020, 8:22 am

    More info I like this weapon

  • Ronald Sanders January 24, 2020, 6:54 am

    Where can I get one of the Diablo

    • charles smith January 25, 2020, 5:53 pm

      how much an it takes reg 12 ga shells how long to get if ordered

      • Forest Anderson April 2, 2020, 2:17 pm

        It doesn’t use shells at all it is a muzzel loader

  • Mike Parker January 23, 2020, 12:44 pm

    Where can I get one?

  • Richard hoffman January 22, 2020, 10:18 am

    I want more information on owning one

    • Robert Ali January 23, 2020, 3:42 am

      Can I own in Canada?

      • Dummy January 24, 2020, 5:02 am

        Look it up!

  • kyle January 20, 2020, 6:38 pm

    Your 1st 3 real targets can be an airplane a chicken and a lawnmower. Then your videos will be quieter.

    • Paul Helinski January 20, 2020, 7:16 pm

      Yea the lawnmower was definitely a thought. I broke for lunch instead.

      • Jim January 25, 2020, 10:16 am

        I ordered one 6 weeks ago with holster. Holster came yesterday. Gun, any day I hope. I plan on shooting a turkey with mine. I have killed Turkey’s with every appropriate firearm I own. Have always wanted a BP shotgun and now I will have one!

        • Leon PAUL Merriweather May 23, 2020, 5:23 pm

          did you get your Diablo yet?

  • missourisam January 20, 2020, 6:08 pm

    If it can be used for defense, it will be illegal in New York.

  • John January 20, 2020, 5:42 pm

    Very, very INFORMATIVE! Thanks!
    I wonder if the powder leaks out of the primer/nipple holes while you load the wads & lead?
    Nice gun, but I still love my Leinad .45 muzzle loader pistol. Thanks again.

    • Paul Helinski January 20, 2020, 7:17 pm

      Nah nothing significant. Flash holes are pretty small and the powder has a lot of friction.

    • NY Sucks January 22, 2020, 8:53 am

      Actually it is illegal in New York at least to use it. New York law allows you to own a black powder pistol without a pistol permit but it has to be a wall hanger collector type item, you can’t physically possess the powdered, the ammo to shoot it and the pistol together without a pistol permit. If you own a gun and the means to shoot it in New York, it has to be on your permit.

      • NY Commies January 24, 2020, 5:04 am

        You people REALLY need new lawmakers up there. Some who value the Constitution.

  • JCitizen January 20, 2020, 5:41 pm

    Great video! Very interesting! I’d rather watch a good video that read an article any day.

    • Paul Helinski January 20, 2020, 7:18 pm

      Well that’s because you aren’t screwing off at work like many folks.

  • Bob In N Y S January 20, 2020, 3:59 pm

    In New York . as soon as you put powder primers , bullets in the gun you need a N Y S Pistol Permit !!

  • Harold Littell January 20, 2020, 11:57 am

    If you live in an area with lots of poisonous snakes, you could make an argument for this. For any other reason? So many better options out there. Basically any thing else. Ruger SR, Walther Creed, Canik, ect. and still hve money for 500 rds of 9 mm ammo.

  • lefty January 20, 2020, 10:51 am

    what ind of shot pattern[i.e for snake loads]?,is it legal in UPSTATE Marxist New York?

    • Paul Helinski January 20, 2020, 10:59 am

      To carry loaded without a permit, no. To own, possibly you would have to check into it. #8 shot with a shotcup is a great snake gun.

      • Michael J. Salfai June 26, 2020, 8:45 am

        I didn’t know that snakes were so aggressive you needed a gun to protect yourself.

        • Rick wayne July 31, 2020, 4:23 pm

          The snakes there carry knives so one needs a gun

  • Rick January 20, 2020, 10:05 am

    Nice video Paul. Very informative. Thanks!

  • Adam Jeppson January 20, 2020, 9:54 am

    Get you damn fingers out of the bore! Keep you hands from the bore area! Sheesh!

    • Paul Helinski January 20, 2020, 10:54 am

      Sheesh get a clue maybe. Let me slow down for you for a sec. If there are no caps on the nipples, the gun will not fire, no matter how many ssri drugs you take.

      • Harold Littell January 20, 2020, 11:48 am

        Rule 1. “Treat every gun as if it is loaded, ALWAYS”. Rule 2. “Never cover with the muzzle any thing you do not wish to destroy”. Col. Jeff Cooper, USMC (ret.), Fonder of Gunsite Academy. Any further questions?

        • John F. Merrick January 20, 2020, 4:50 pm

          As a Fed LEO firearms instructor of 20 years, I added “until you personally verify that it is not” to number one. It is impossible to teach certain classes without flagging something. There is always some accountant type who thinks every rule has to be followed to the letter in every situation and with every piece of equipment. Even with a triple checked by three different people clear and empty weapon I had one or two newby accountant types freak out until I changed the wording. If you take any significant classes you will often see the instructor unload and clear his weapon, then ask at least two others to verify it is clear before he proceeds with a demonstration. Also, it is impossible to stack up and do an entry without flagging multiple people. that’s the real world. Oh, and “Any further questions?” Really? how about showing some maturity and manners?

    • Jack L McCutcheon May 16, 2020, 5:29 am

      It’s a MUZZLE LOADER. While it is being loaded, you can’t not point it at yourself. Especially your hands and fingers that are on the ramrod.

      What is wrong with you?

  • Paul Belke January 20, 2020, 8:59 am

    Try using rechargeable desiccant packs in your river bag to help with moisture. You recharge them in the microwave. Just and FYI

  • Mike Mathis January 20, 2020, 8:25 am

    I believe you either had a typo or are in error on the weight of a .410 bore slug! Most weigh 1/5 of an ounce, not 1-1/16 ounces! Why not just use a 5 or 6 shot cap and ball pistol in 44 caliber?

  • Steve in Detroit January 20, 2020, 7:23 am

    For that dough I would go with a Remington Army Italian copy. You get 6 .44 loads that can do a hell of a better job, and for question above; A Black Powder Antique fire arm or reproduction Black Powder is legal for our felon brethren. At least last time I checked. Michigan does not allow Black Powder through the mail or net.

    • JR January 20, 2020, 1:37 pm

      Ditto Steve…even with a Howell conversion cylinder, the 1858 Rem reloads quickly.

    • Atchcook January 26, 2020, 7:19 am

      I know in most if not all places they have made it illegal to own if you are a felon. They changed the discription of gun to anything that propels a projectile with compressed gasses. So according to that a felon can’t even have a bee bee gun.

    • Mahatma Mujesbude February 1, 2020, 11:15 am

      Well, Steve, it’s kinda like ‘what kind of underwear old people wear? Depends’. While It’s true that Federal law didn’t include muzzloaders or antique firearms in their totalitarian unconstitutional 68 Gun Control Act because they forgot about them for the most part or didn’t care in their rapid drooling frantic desperation to take away your more tactically friendly stuff Many STATES caught that little tyrannical gun control mistake and made up for it by defining a firearm in their State laws differently from Fed law. They word the statute to say a firearm is considered to be (in their state) any device that fires a projectile by explosive powder discharge. ‘Beat THAT you Gun and God loving American Patriot soon to be Communist Slaves!

      So always check your STATE laws before buying something like this.

      Remember the reason I gave numerous times over the past couple decades for why ‘They’ made it unconstitutionally illegal for an ex felon to have a firearm after they paid their dues and returned to society as a law-abiding citizen again?

      Because if they then made enough laws making most human behavior a criminal act–which is getting close–see Battlefield America by John Whitehead. (Almost everybody now breaks some Federal, State, or municipal law regularly but either doesn’t realize it or it’s not really enforced yet)) Look at the worse one that emerged in only the last couple years and now juggernaut-ing throughout the country that really tears up your Bill of Rights and Due process, the diabolic (pun intended) Red Flag law seizures? This Red Flag law is a sinister Beta test on how effectively they’ll eventually deploy mass gun seizures by trickle down local law enforcers. And don’t say stupid shit like there’s a lot of Cops or military won’t ‘enforce’ that like in Virginia. Yeah, well, there are also a lot who WILL! Especially if they are hired and paid well to do Specifically That?

      And don’t make yourself even more of an idiot by saying the can’t seize what they don’t know about.
      That might apply to a very few. But with all the latest Police Surveillance State development at a close second to the illegal confiscation agenda laws being passed (we SHOULD be repealing more gun laws in a true Libertarian Nation) including knowing everywhere you go, were, stopped, and etc.. with the blast off of ubiquitous ALPR scanners Everything you buy (even if you paid cash) the new ‘special’ Facial Recognition cameras will still I.D. you because they are now available to private business–who are ‘colluding’ with the G !

      Somebody was just telling me that a small town in either Michigan or Wisconsin passed a law just for their city limits that NOTHING that SHOOTS including air soft, Archerey, etc. slingshots and blowguns. Nothing that is legal to own by anybody is allowed to be shot anywhere outside of your home in the city limits!

      That’s almost as Bad as Canada?! I don’t think they’d allow sawed off pistol shotgun pistol. They don’t even allow a BB gun with enough velocity to really penetrate anything much passed a paper target.

      Next it will be stones large enough to be thrown hard enough to hurt somebody.

      During the Hong Kong Freedom Riots (They’ve been quietly ‘disappearing’ the dissident leadership now)
      there was an interesting street action shot of two protesters leaping across the streat with archery bows and arrows!

      Sad.

  • Jeffrey L. Frischkorn January 20, 2020, 7:18 am

    A fool and his money are soon parted…

    • Mike V January 20, 2020, 9:05 pm

      And then laughs hysterically at the stuffy types who enjoy one thing only. I have gas in my tank and the mortgage paid, looks like fun.

    • Atchcook January 26, 2020, 7:23 am

      You ever heard the song ” I’d rather laugh with the sinner’s then cry with the saints” . I love BP guns even for deer hunting. I drop more deer with my.50 BP pistol then people with slug guns.

  • Mike in a Truck January 20, 2020, 6:57 am

    OK I’m sold. I want one. I would forego the expensive holster and make a sling out of paracord. A trick I use on my TC New Englander is to take a piece of that mouthguard stuff that football players use. Boil in water to soften than form it around the nipple/ lock area. Attach a lanyard. Plastic wads are the way to go. Over shot wad to lock it down. Triple seven is what I use and for wet weather I’ll pour some plasti- dip over the shot wad the night before and let it dry. What need does this double barrel pistol fill? Who cares- looks like fun!

  • Roger J January 20, 2020, 6:23 am

    Wait till the insane crazies on the Left hear about this. Their heads will be exploding all over the cities.

    • Jon Dough January 20, 2020, 9:06 am

      ” Wait till the insane crazies on the Left hear about this. ”

      Which is the #1 reason “why” something like this ought NOT be promoted & Sold.
      It will almost certainly lead to liberal progressive commie ‘legislators and ‘governors’ across the land coming down HARDER on -YOUR- RIGHT to KBBA. As (supposedly protected by, ) the 2A

      I ought to know how bad it can be and how the bast*rds think; I am trapped, ‘living’ in ‘the Peoples Commune of Cumostan’. There is NO ONE who cares about his rights and the US Constitution more than I, but ‘black rifles’ AKA “assault weapons’ –as ‘the Left’ calls them, should all be promoted by their sellers as “Home Defense Rifles” and “Homeland Defense Rifles” to head off all the verbal dirty tricks and perpetual smears from the leftists as well – for all the same reasons…

      Ask yourself; Why should any of us with 1/2 a brain be giving linguistic ‘ammo’ to the dirty creeps anyway ?

      And no, I don’t want to hear all your egocentric bluster and BS like ‘come and get them’ “Molon Labe”.
      Because when they get enough -really stupid- people stirred up enough into a frothing lather, they WILL send THEM to your door. And no, you don’t have enough cat’ridges to handle them all. Believe me.
      After all, look around you; how many ‘voted’ for Democrats last time around..? How many Cities & States are RUN by leftists? How many of the care-less and comatose are sucking the gummint teat provided by,.. DemocRats?

      Don’t be so dam cocksure of yourself, bunkie. LOOK at the ‘big picture’ for a change -or you’ll get the change’ you ain’t gonna like.

      • Blasted cap January 20, 2020, 10:49 am

        Calm down, sit back, have an adult beverage, breathe in through your nose out through your mouth.

      • Debbi Doe January 20, 2020, 11:07 am

        So everyone should shut up and hide like you John Dough. You complain about the left but give in to them. Don’t give them any more ammo blah blah blah! Excuses for the meak and scared. Don’t fight the enemy because it’ll just make them mad. Really, really?!?! It’s people like you that become subjects, you choose to live where you are and support your enemy by doing what they want you to do. Keep your excuses to yourself and just bend over and take it. Just don’t try and talk the rest of us into your socialist life style.

      • Alan January 24, 2020, 1:54 pm

        Ah, the Man who knows everything. Silly boy, they DON’T NEED any excuse, so it doesn’t matter what you say or do, outside of living as THEY think you should.
        Perhaps you should read Pastor Martin Niemöller’s verse on being quiet and passive.

        • William Cook May 6, 2020, 9:31 pm

          The only thing that is keeping guns in our hands is the work done by the NRA. Donate. So many people bitch all the time about our rights etc.. and then never donate a dime to the cause. Believe me if it wasn’t for these people we would all be carrying box cutters.

  • Frank s January 20, 2020, 6:17 am

    A .410 and/or 20 gauge variant would be better for a pistol. A .410 could use 44 black powder pistol balls.

  • BIGKIELBASSA January 20, 2020, 5:58 am

    Load it with Rock Salt 😃♥️

  • Nelly January 20, 2020, 1:07 am

    Is this a good option for ladies? Is it heavy? Is there any safety features?

    • Paul Helinski January 20, 2020, 10:56 am

      It is heavy, hard to hold onto, and it is absent of any safety features aside from the strap on the holster.

  • Kevin p shuey January 20, 2020, 12:00 am

    what a great article, thanks

  • Robert Garcia January 19, 2020, 10:05 pm

    Is this firearm legal for felons?

    • Chris Mallory January 20, 2020, 8:25 am

      On the Federal level, yes. But state laws might prohibit it. I know Kentucky’s firearm laws define a firearm to include muzzleloaders for the purpose of state laws. Check your state laws.

    • Paul Helinski January 20, 2020, 10:57 am

      In most states no. Watch the end of the video.

  • Lonnie January 19, 2020, 9:09 pm

    How do i order one please

    • Mike V January 20, 2020, 9:09 pm

      C’mon! Internet is already easy!

  • Dean Sutton January 19, 2020, 7:56 pm

    Interested

  • LHTwist January 19, 2020, 6:03 pm

    This guy needs to read the labels on his wads. The .125 cards are over powder and the thin cards should be used over shot. His patterns will improve immensely if the cards are used properly.

    • Paul Helinski January 20, 2020, 11:01 am

      That is actually explained in the article and will be tried in the future.

  • Bruce January 19, 2020, 9:17 am

    Didn’t try the 100 grain capsules?

Leave a Comment

Send this to a friend