.75 MOA Guarantee from Springfield Armory’s All-New Bolt-Action 2020 Waypoint – Review

Springfield Armory, known for building great semi-auto handguns and “Saint” model AR-15 rifles, has just announced a brand-new bolt-action hunting rifle. Built around their own “2020” action, this made-in-the-USA rifle sports state-of-the-art components and offers a .75 moa accuracy guarantee.

Called the “2020”, Springfield’s new action is patterned after Remington’s model 700 action – historically one of the most accurate bolt actions ever designed.

LOCK, STOCK, AND BARREL

Action: Springfield’s 2020 action is a descendant of the legendary Remington 700 design. Dual locking lugs, a fluted, nitride-coated bolt, EDM raceways, and dual cocking cams make for smooth and reliable cycling. The bolt features a 90-degree bolt lift, offers toolless disassembly for maintenance, and along with the action is machined after heat treatment. The recoil lug is machined integral to the action, which is Cerakoted and comes with a factory-mounted Rem 700 pattern pic rail. The bolt stop/release is located on the left rear of the action, is low profile, and functions crisply. The safety is located just behind the closed bolt handle in typical Rem 700 style. Single-stack AICS pattern magazines snap snuggly into the mag well, and an adjustable TriggerTech trigger (best of the best) rounds out the package.

Eye-catching and built right, the Waypoint’s stock features hand-laid carbon fiber construction, pillar bedding, and semi-modular design.

Stock: The Waypoint’s hand-laid carbon fiber stock is built by AG Composites for Springfield, and is available with either a standard or an adjustable-comb stock. Actions are pillar bedded into the stock, which comes in your choice of custom-painted camo options: Evergreen, or Ridgeline. A one-inch Pachmayr Decelerator pad tames recoil. Five strategically placed QD mounts and three reinforced M-Lok sections enable direct mounting of the sling, bipod, and other accessories.

Chambered for some of the hottest new cartridges available, the Waypoint is a spicy new hunting rifle built to satisfy today’s modern shooter.

Barrel: Two barrel configurations are available on the Waypoint; a traditional fluted stainless steel barrel, and a BSF jacketed carbon fiber barrel. This is a new design that features a fluted steel barrel that’s jacketed in a roll-wrapped carbon fiber sleeve. Reportedly, 95-percent of the carbon fiber sleeve doesn’t contact the barrel, which, Springfield says, adds cold bore and warm bore repeatability, as well as aiding in heat dispersion. Barrels are free-floated. Available chambering options include 6mm Creedmoor (20”, 1:7.5 twist rate), 6.5 Creedmoor (22”, 1:8 twist rate), 6.5 PRC (24”, 1:8 Twist rate), and .308 Winchester (20”, 1:10 twist rate). Barrels are cerakoted Mil-Spec Green or Desert Verde to match the Evergreen and Ridgeline color schemes. A removable radial muzzle brake is standard issue on each rifle.

Pricing: The 2020 Waypoint is remarkably well priced, considering the quality of components and the semi-custom nature of the firearm. A simple model sporting a traditional stock and stainless barrel will cost you less than $1,700, while a Waypoint rifle featuring all the bells and whistles still comes in at less than $2,400.

The author tested the Waypoint with three brands of ammo. All shot accurately.

TESTING

My first impression of the Springfield 2020 Waypoint was that it is well designed, good looking, and well balanced. It’s not a terribly light rifle, coming in at between 6 lb. 9 oz. and 8 lb. 2 oz., but neither is it heavy or cumbersome.

The best test group turned up by the new Springfield measured a tiny 0.33 inches – good enough to inspire a gleeful yelp from the author.

I tested three different loads through the rifle: one long-range target load, one varmint/predator load, and one hunting load. All three shot into less than one MOA, with the varmint load cheerfully printing tiny groups that averaged only .62-inches, ratifying Springfield’s .75-moa guarantee with room to spare. The Waypoint handles well, settles nicely into the sandbags, and inspires confidence. Recoil was very mild in the 6mm CM I tested. My 12-year-old son fired a few shots from the rifle as well, shooting at a steel plate some 150-yards distant. He never missed.

Fit and finish on the Waypoint are very nice; camo, carbon, and Cerakote blend well and compliment one another.

I did experience one issue while testing. Three times during the course of firing 30 rounds the rifle failed to eject, dropping the cartridge when it was about 2/3 out of the chamber. I’ve made Springfield aware of the malfunction, and am confident they will resolve the issue posthaste if it proves to apply to more than my test rifle.

The author’s 12-year-old son putting the rifle through its paces. He liked it, too.

CONCLUSION

I truly enjoyed the Springfield 2020 Waypoint. Accuracy was good and the rifle handled and felt great. I would not hesitate to recommend the Waypoint to a friend shopping for a hunting rifle, or to hunt with one myself.

Well-balanced and accurate, Springfield’s Waypoint rifle delivers a lot of performance for the price.

Accuracy testing was conducted at 100 yards. Three, 3-shot groups were fired with each ammo brand, the results measured with a caliper, added together, and averaged. Chronograph info was gathered with a Shooting Chrony, placed 10 feet in front of the muzzle.

ManufactureBulletVelocity (FPS)Accuracy (Inches)ESSD
Hornady Varmint87 Gr. V-Max30700.625430
Federal Premium105 Gr. Berger29910.984617
Nosler Trophy Grade90 Gr. Accubond31600.853211

***Visit Springfield Armory to learn more about the 2020 Waypoint***

{ 26 comments… add one }
  • Gary Crispens December 15, 2020, 7:37 am

    I like Springfield, but this one does not get me excited.
    It is too heavy and too expensive.
    You can get sub MOA from several Sako, Savage and Remington models.

  • Doubt it December 14, 2020, 12:36 pm

    Bet the rifle used, was hand selected and chambered for SAMMI free bore recomendations or better to produce those groups to match the title.
    What’s the average OAL on this rifles bore for the average Joe? Is it SAMMI spec or better, or did the lawyers get to define a longer then usual OAL like what we all get in the run of the mill Remington 700 off the store shelf “historically one of the most accurate bolt actions ever designed.” rifles?

    That made me laugh, for $1,700 it better be .75″ MOA or returnable if the throat is out of SAMMI specs.

    Just my 2 cents.

  • John Kiss December 14, 2020, 10:46 am

    3 shot groups don’t tell the full story…show me five…

  • Eric Hicks December 13, 2020, 3:08 am

    Seems like Springfield gets so close but they can’t finish the race. I have read a lot of reports about various issues that makes me question Springfield’s quality and/or designs on various rifles and pistols.

  • Dusty October 16, 2020, 12:58 pm

    Interesting rifle- but at a price point of some semi-custom or full custom firearms- e.g. the Nosler 48. I’m unable to understand the rather wide weight variance? Perhaps the higher value listed is the 6.5 PRC?
    This rifle appears directed at the competition/gaming crowd and is Cerakote/camo unnecessary?
    Portability/handling-wise, I don’t care for the (any) extended magazine, nor any pic/one piece rail. The stock appears designed for prone shooting? Were other positions attempted?
    It has a nice thick recoil pad I’d say, so I’m uncertain of the need for a (standard?) muzzle brake on at least three of the cartridges listed. [I make it a practice to avoid shooting or even standing near a muzzle brake. I don’t care for the extra noise, nor dust/debris from the ground, surroundings or even overhead at covered ranges. [Annoying the hornets is unwise 🙂 ]]
    Is fail to extract a non-starter, given the attempt to improve on the M700 extractor?
    I know that Springfield makes fine firearms- and I’m sure they can make it right.

    • MICHAEL CANTOR December 14, 2020, 3:55 am

      DUDE, to each his own. This rifle is awesome. First, have you priced out the components to build this rifle? It is half, at least, what a custom rifle would cost.
      The protruding magazine ? If you don’t like it, get a flush magazine. It is not in the way under normal circumstances.
      A muzzle brake is used so you can keep your eye on the target and reduce flinching from recoil. Most sportsmen in the know put muzzle brakes on 22LRs for competition. I have them on everything from my 22s, 9mm PCC, 204, 243, 220 swift 22/250, 300 Win mag. If you don’t have a Brake you don’t know what you are missing, if you have the RIGHT brake. No, I don’t have them on everything, a dedicated lightweight coyote rifle, a sporting 30/06 and others where I might not have hearing protection on and when I am hunting with a partner side by side. If you don’t like the brake remove it and install a thread protector.
      Why wouldn’t you want a nice recoil pad? It protects the butt end of the gun and provides a no slip grip; it is not necessarily to protect your shoulder.
      The weight variance? Because they offer the rifle with or without an adjustable stock and with a conventional steel barrel or carbon fiber barrel; I’d say there would be a considerable weight difference. Different calibers have larger or smaller bore diameters and therefore more or less barrel weight.
      Everybody tries to improve on the extractor for reliability. An M-16 type extractor is a well known improvement for reliability and ease of maintenance.
      Actually, this stock design is more geared for tactical shooting, off a bench, off a rest or bipod, across a log and it will work prone or offhand.
      The fluted bolt looks cool and theoretically it allows debris a place to go if you are in a really dirty environment. The fluting doesn’t hurt anything.
      And, you know what? there are a lot of other rifles out there. I’m sure you’ll buy one of those.
      You compelled me to write. 20 minutes of my life I’ll never get back.
      This rifle is super slick. Sorry you won’t get the chance to appreciate it.

  • Jim October 6, 2020, 9:49 pm

    do they make any other bolt than the spiral one ?

  • Scott Woody October 6, 2020, 1:53 pm

    Left hand models available? Or will they become available?

  • Norm Fishler October 6, 2020, 12:27 pm

    Please enlighten me as to what an AICS pattern magazine is. How many come with the rifle and how much are extras? At $1700 for the bare bones version I would hope it comes with several extra.

    • Gregory Peter Cranwell October 6, 2020, 4:16 pm

      Accuracy International Pattern magazines are used in the Accuracy International aluminum chassis stock system. These chassis stocks can be found (made by A.I. as well) on many types of actions but the chassis are manufactured by Accuracy International which is also the maker of the fine British sniper rifle systems of the UK (AIAXMC for instance).. They are very well designed and I see that the magazine used for this rifle in this review is made by Magpul (you can see their stamp on the floorplate) which is excellent. I have many A.I.C.S. Magpul magazines and they work exceptionally. The company is so good that the military is fielding their .556 magazines in the U.S.M.C. m-16’s. Don’t worry how many magazines you get because Magpul AICS mags are very inexpensive (about $35.00 and work just as well as the original steel ones from A.I. (about $85.00). By the way, G.A Precision has a comparable “bare bones” rifle for sale right now on their site for $5,400.00. $17,000 is a steal for a rifle like this; I would want to know who makes the barrels and

      • Gregory Peter Cranwell October 6, 2020, 4:18 pm

        Sorry. I meant $1,700. and I didn’t finish the post. My apologies… Good luck on what ever rifle you decide on!!!!!!!

        • Norm Fishler October 6, 2020, 6:58 pm

          Many thanx for your thoughtful reply . . . Even though my heart did skip a beat or two when I saw the $17k.

        • Edward Allen October 14, 2020, 7:10 pm

          If I remember correctly, the barrels are manufactured by BFS.

  • Joel Ash October 6, 2020, 12:11 pm

    Why are so many hunting rifles coming out now with extended magazines? It looks very uncomfortable to carry by hand. Are there flush mounted magazines available?

    • Aram von Benedikt October 6, 2020, 5:00 pm

      Joel,

      I confess I’m with you – I personally don’t love the external Mag look. It’s a concession to the precision shooting crowd (PRS) who need interchangeable mags for their events. This rifle does carry nicely, though. I doubt that flush-mount mags are or will be available.

      Regards,

      AvB

      • Edward Allen October 14, 2020, 7:12 pm

        The magazine in the picture is only a 5 round magazine. 10 and 12 round magazines are available as well. Also, all mags are MagPul except for the 6.5 PRC, if I remember correctly. That one will be a steel magazine as it allows for a longer ogive.

  • David Gonzales October 6, 2020, 11:54 am

    Does it come in left handed action.

    • Aram von Benedikt October 6, 2020, 5:01 pm

      Unknown!

  • Kole October 6, 2020, 11:29 am

    So it looks nice. Would like to see a thumb hook on the rear of the stock. The major problem I have is the .75 moa for 2400 bucks. Thing should be 1/2 or better. Especially if I can put a 5r in a manner’s stock and accomplish that type of accuracy for less. It does have some nice features though. It would be interesting to see how the accuracy holds up when shooting strings

  • Rich Lamothe October 6, 2020, 11:25 am

    I see a trend of ever increasing prices. I am 72 yrs old and hunted since I was 10. I know the industry needs to innovate and always come forward with something new and mostly redundant. Accuracy being the number 1 reason for new rifles. But with all the forces trying to change our ability to own guns, they don’t have to do much with the gun industry pricing we sportsman out of the business of owning a gun. I have over 30 different brands and cal. but this trend of rifles costing several thousand dollars is not helping the cause to promote future youth and us seniors from taking to the outdoors. If a company has so much trouble making an a quality rifle for a reasonable price, well maybe they should follow Remington’s lead and go away.

    • Edward Allen October 15, 2020, 5:16 pm

      You can still get quality rifles for under $300. I have a Ruger American Predator in .223 and 6.5 Creedmore that I paid $299 for. I have a Thompson Center in 30-06 that only cost $259 and it is very accurate.

      There are plenty of lower priced quality firearms. You just have to take the time to look.

      As for hand guns, I only paid $375 for my Springfield Armory XD 9m and 45 ACP. As for 1911s. You can still get a decent one for about $500.

      Yes, it may be more than you paid in the 70’s, but than again, so is the coffee, milk and bread you had at breakfast.

  • Ron Robinson October 6, 2020, 10:59 am

    Being a firearms expert and professional writer myself, perhaps I’m being overly critical in expecting a gun “test” to mention what cartridge the test gun is chambered in. It took me only a little deductive reasoning to figure it out, but non-experts might not. We don’t have to wonder what kind of expert would recommend a rifle that doesn’t eject to a friend. Really? REALLY?

    • lejuch December 14, 2020, 10:30 am

      Perhaps being a little more “expert” would have read this in the review? “Recoil was very mild in the 6mm CM I tested.”

  • John G October 6, 2020, 10:02 am

    Very Impressive. Was there a reason the scope wasn’t listed for this test?

    • Aram von Benedikt October 6, 2020, 5:03 pm

      Hey John,

      Simply that the review was focused on the rifle. The scope is a Leupold VX 3i.

      Cheers!

      AvB

  • Greg October 6, 2020, 6:26 am

    Calling this close to the 700 Remington is like calling it a rifle. Nothing close to the 700. Thank god for that. Better bolt & handle, better extractor, better recoil lug, trigger, etc etc. Good to see the 2 locking lugs. Mauser was right from the start. Stock is ugly, but functional. Accuracy makes it beautiful 😊.

Leave a Comment

Send this to a friend