The Keltec CP33 Gets Braced! New Aftermarket Pistol Brace Options Reviewed

One of my favorite guns of 2019 just got even cooler with the release of pistol brace adapters for the Keltec CP33. The two companies that I received these adapters from are Farrowtech and Rehv Arms. I know many of you will look at these and say “why do I need that?” Well, if that is you, this review is not for communists anyway.

Shooting the Keltec CP33 braced is more fun than I’ve had with a gun in a long time because it is extremely controllable, tiny, and holds a lot of pews. Moving forward, I will not draw any direct comparisons of these two brace adapters because in my mind they are too dissimilar, but they each have their own perks and attributes that I will discuss.

Braces allow pistols to stay small and portable while making them easier to shoot. (Farrowtech Brace adapter shown)

Why Shoot Braced?

The Keltec CP33 is constructed to be extremely accurate, but most people cannot shoot a handgun to even show its capabilities. This is where a handy-dandy stabilizing device, such as a brace, comes in handy. gaining another point of contact on the firearm allows you to have more control over it which then manifests downrange in better group sizes. You can take this up one notch to bring out its full potential out by also mounting an optic on the pistol: which turns it into a pretty accurate, user-friendly bag of smiles.

Dear “Alphabet Bois”, it appears that this brace is touching my shoulder, but I don’t think it was… (Rehv Arms Brace Adapter shown)

The Farrowtech Brace Adapter

The Farrowtech brace adapter utilizes a collapsible design and lightweight components to provide the user with an additional point of contact for firing a pistol accurately. In order to complete the brace, you must acquire a Gear Head Works Tailhook MOD 1, which Farrowtech offers through their website, or you can buy them elsewhere. Once completed, this brace consists of a composite mount, a composite locking mechanism, carbon fiber guide rods, and an aluminum tailhook. Although this is a pistol brace design, Farrowtech will also be launching a butt-plate adapter, which will be a simple part-swap, for those who wish to SBR their Keltec CP33.

Even when collapsed, the Farrowtech Brace adapter still allows full access to the ambidextrous controls on the CP33

Overall, the adapter is very sturdy. Even though it is lightweight, it seems to really take a beating and is plenty rigid while firing the gun. Because of this, it would be a good option for a lightweight backpacking setup, only adding 2 oz to the gun + the tailhook. Installation of the adapter is simple and all that needs to be done to deploy the Farrowtech brace is yank on it, which will cause it to slide open and lock into place with a spring-loaded mechanism. In reverse, you must lift the locking mechanism and then push the brace back in to collapse it. Because the guide rods are out of the way of the controls, you can still operate the safety, bolt release, and trigger while it is collapsed if you choose to.

MSRP: $125.00

Adapter + Tailhook: $244.99

Coupled with the Gear Head Works Tailhook Mod 1, the Farrowtech brace is compact, lightweight and very sturdy.

The Rehv Arms Brace Adapter

The Rehv Arms CP33 Brace Adapter is extremely simple, consisting of a CNC’d 7075 aluminum, black Cerakoted adapter with steel set-screws. This adapter provides a 1913 picatinny rail section at the rear of the Keltec CP33 for attaching any picatinny compatible braces (or buttstocks if you are really cool and have proper paperwork). Of course, you must purchase the brace separately, just like with the Farrowtech adapter. The pairing that I made to compliment the Rehv Arms Brace Adapter was with an SB Tactical FS1913 brace.

The Rehv Arms Brace Adapter bolts onto the rear of the CP33 and creates an extremely sturdy location to mount a picatinny-compatible brace or buttstock.

The Rehv Arms CP33 Brace Adapter encompasses almost the entirety of the rear of the gun with a very little tolerance, which causes this adapter to fit extremely well with no wiggle room. To lock it in place, simply tighten the two bolts on the adapter which replace existing bolts at the rear of the CP33.

Folded, the SB Tactial FS1913 brace and Rehv Arms adapter make for a compact package that deploys quickly.

With my pairing of the FS1913 Brace from SB Tactical, I was able to fire the pistol from the folded position as well as the open, extended position. However, I was not able to work the bolt release while it was folded. The Rehv Arms brace adapter is lightweight itself, but when paired with the FS1913 brace, it added some reasonable heft to the pistol. Naturally, though, the pistol was VERY stable when fired with this setup. In this configuration, I had a blast carrying the gun around in my pickup, shooting at everything that looked like a target in the woods.

MSRP: $79.95

Adapter + SB1913 brace: $329.94

Visit Rehv Arms and Farrowtech here!

More picture of the Rehv Arms and Farrowtech Brace Adapters here:

The Gear Head Works Tailhook Mod 1 clicks open and can be used to rest the forearm against the brace for sturdier shooting.

***Buy and Sell on GunsAmerica! All Local Sales are FREE!***

About the author: Riley Baxter is an avid and experienced hunter, shooter, outdoorsman, and he’s worked in the backcountry guiding for an outfitter. He also get’s a lot of enjoyment out of building or customizing his firearms and equipment. Check out Riley’s Instagram @Shooter300

{ 32 comments… add one }
  • Tubbs Phat November 6, 2020, 8:51 pm

    I shot this at some nuts I placed on the fence. I busted them nuts good. My longest shot is about a half mile at somethin the side of a machine shed. Sometimes I like to spin in a circle like that lady on Gone with the Wind and just pop off rounds. I’m having mine converted to 45-70 govt.

  • David barbera April 15, 2020, 12:41 pm

    I bought a pharaoh tech arm brace and they sent it to the wrong address now they won’t answer the phone or return my emails you might want to think twice about ordering from these guys

  • Frank S. March 30, 2020, 6:45 am

    I don’t get the stamp requirement for a butt stocked pistol. I know it’s in the NFA law, just don’t really understand why. Makes it easier to shoot a pistol accurately, but also makes it hard to conceal, so it should be a good thing. Many guns now classified as “pistols” are for all practical purposes short barrelled rifles… some flagrantly so (an AR pistol configuration, for example). The brace is a way around this, but so blatant that it’s probably going to be disallowed or required to be much shorter so that it can’t be used as a stock. I have a stock for my 1911, but don’t have the long barrel. So it’s technically illegal with the stock attached. I don’t leave it on, and have only shot it with the stock on private property, not at the commercial range. Limits where I can use it, but then I got it more as a novelty than anything else.

    • Scott April 10, 2021, 7:14 pm

      Originally, the NFA act was going to ban pistols or list them as “machine guns”.

      They didn’t want people converting rifles into pistols by cutting them down, hence the SBR designation.

      When they dropped the pistol part, they didn’t then drop the SBR part and so we have a rather stupid law.

  • Stanley L. Karamol December 16, 2019, 6:15 am

    Great article thanks did not know about the brace.

  • MikeT October 27, 2019, 9:31 pm

    What mount is that for the Aimpoint that allows the use of the low fixed sights?

  • Ej harbet September 24, 2019, 2:51 pm

    This is bodass! Can i get one for my chick? She used to be a commie 😀

  • Stuart September 24, 2019, 2:32 pm

    Even better yet, make one in .22TCM. It would be a real fire-breather!

  • JLA September 24, 2019, 7:54 am

    Wow, look at all the whining butthurt going on over a joke!

  • MikeRoss September 23, 2019, 7:15 pm

    “Alphabet Boys”

    That’s great, rub their faces in it while you’re pictured ‘misusing’ a brace. ‘Occasional incidental contact’ does not mean we can treat pistol braces as stocks. The BATFE is reviewing pistol braces right now, they’re getting a lot of pressure from anti-gun groups, about braces. If they reverse themselves we’ll have all the YouTube and gun magazine dimwits to thank for it.

    • Bp January 14, 2020, 8:55 pm

      No it wont be the fault of youtubers. It will be the fault of the administration, those in Congress, and the anti gunners.
      Stop blaming gun laws and gun restrictions on gun owners. The only reason braces exist is a vague definition of what constitutes a rifle/pistol or “firearm” and what constitutes a “stock”. Heck they are now having trouble defining what constitutes a “gun” (look up the cases about lower receivers getting tossed). Maybe if the ATF changes their mind the gun groups will sue them and gun owners will pressure their officals to remove suppressors and SBRs from the broken NFA system.

    • Grey July 14, 2020, 11:24 pm

      Anti-gunners are the reason for unconstitutional laws, not people exercising their Constitutional rights. Get it right dimwit.

  • Will D September 23, 2019, 4:12 pm

    That Farrow Tech brace looks cool. Hopefully we’ll see some larger magazines made available too. 33 rounds is good, but not true giggle factor.

  • Rob Hunter September 23, 2019, 1:04 pm

    Yet the CMR, with it’s more powerful 22 magnum, still sits in a rifle configuration. Of course it takes other companies to brace up Keltecs’ 22 pistol. Keltec is completely missing the brace and pistol train for some reason.

    • JLA September 24, 2019, 7:51 am

      Agreed. A shortened CMR30 with a brace would be an awesome pistol, almost MP-7 like even!

    • Osceola Bembry September 24, 2019, 11:14 am

      You do know that Kel Tec has the PMR30, which is the pistol version of the CMR30. But yes, they should make a stock attachment for the PMR30.

  • david huckabee September 23, 2019, 10:44 am

    this pistol and brace looks so kool, it has to be UNLEGAL. tax stamp coming on review probably by an angry ATF stooge. lol.

  • Tenbones September 23, 2019, 9:39 am

    What’s this communist BS? First I was labeled a deplorable because I liked a particular political party, now I’m called a communist because I may not feel I need, or want, a particular handgun!!!???

    Well, you can kiss my grits!

  • The Millionth Counsel September 23, 2019, 9:25 am

    If the manufacturer could take the barrel and barrel shroud and substitute that for a short suppressor it might make a good suppressor integrated pistol.

  • Steve September 23, 2019, 8:46 am

    Dear Keltec,

    Please oh please start working with the 5.7×28 cartridge. The main thing holding me back from a CP33 is it’s chambering.

    Sincerely,

    – Everyone who understands ballistics and knows that a 5.7 and 22mag are not equitable.

    • Charlie September 23, 2019, 11:49 am

      You realize that the CP33 is 22LR right? Your comment makes no sense.

      • LazrBeam September 23, 2019, 5:24 pm

        He’s just wishing for a different cartridge. Frankly, I’d like to see Keltec develop something that uses the 7.62×25.

  • Rick September 23, 2019, 7:49 am

    So anyone who doesn’t agree with your opinion of these items is a communist? You sound like a liberal snowflake there bud.

    • Jefferson Sharp January 23, 2021, 7:50 pm

      Well somebody here got offended by a joke. Who’s the snowflake?

  • Nate September 22, 2019, 8:33 pm

    I believe you meant to say you couldn’t use the bolt release for the rehv arms brace as the mag release is at the bottom of the hand grip.

    • Riley Baxter September 24, 2019, 1:00 pm

      Ah yes, thank you for pointing that out. I will make the correction.

  • Jonathan Lemaire September 22, 2019, 6:45 pm

    As a libertarian I am ashamed of the authors misuse of the term communist at the beginning of the article. Grow a pair and address your fellow citizens with respect and truth. Gun grabbing social democrats are a tiny minority of the party, but have absolutely nothing to do with communism. Funny thing is social democratic ideas begin in the Preamble of the Constitution I swore an oath to defend, but the author must have skipped that document as must read material…

    • Dustin September 23, 2019, 6:18 am

      …go back to your safe space, butthurt fake libertarian.

    • Matthew Schmidt September 23, 2019, 7:19 am

      Such a lame complaint.

      • Christopher September 23, 2019, 9:30 am

        Thumbs up – that was a lame complaint by Jonathan Lemaire. And the statement, “Gun grabbing social democrats are a tiny minority of the party, but have absolutely nothing to do with communism” is just plain wrong.

    • Bp January 14, 2020, 8:59 pm

      Minority? What planet are you on? Being antigun is now essentially a democratic party requirement. Its depressing. I might have agreed with the views of some conservative moderate Democrats but the seeming party requirement to be massively antigun stops me from ever considering them.

    • Grey July 14, 2020, 11:34 pm

      What planet are you from that only a small minority of Democrats are gun-grabbers? And why would you care about some articles use of the term “communist” like it hurt your feelings? Me thinks you doth protest too much comrade! Your IP address smells Californian.

Leave a Comment

Send this to a friend