Ruger 57 – The Best Ruger Handgun in 5 Decades?

A changing of the guard is brewing

Ruger 57 Pistol

This week, we got our hands on what has to be the hottest pistol of the year, the Ruger 57. The 57 was an unexpected evolution for team Ruger and hit like a shockwave when it was released. I, for one, was also absolutely stunned by what Ruger has built-in terms of features and quality. But the first question some of you may have is, why the 5.7x 28 cartridge?

5.7x28mm is a strange one, for sure. It has a small but fanatical following, and if you are one of the fanboys you may want to just skip over this part. 5.7 has never really been on my radar as one I wanted to add to my logistics problem, so I learned a lot about it just in the course of this review. And what I learned has me reconsidering that choice.

American Eagle 5.7x28mm used for testing

5.7x28mm I think of as a modern cartridge, having never heard about it until around 2007. But it is actually quite a bit older than that, FNH having introduced it in 1990. Not a typo, 30 years ago in 1990. It was designed specifically in response to a NATO request for replacement of the 9×19 Parabellum in Personal Defensive Weapons ( PDWs). As a military round, it had some specific traits that would eventually raise much controversy when it shifted gears to the civilian market.

5.7 was not only designed to be lighter, weighing about half as much per round as 9mm, but to outperform it against armor. While the original package of weapons included a pistol, the FN P90 was the star of the show. Basically a space-age looking subgun, the 5.7 round from the P90 was created specifically to penetrate body armor at a range of 200 meters.

5.7×28 left, 5.56×45 right

The P90 and FNH 5.7 did catch on in limited military circles but was never widely adopted. And like many military calibers, it was then introduced to the civilian market. And many pearls where subsequently clutched. While the armor-penetrating projectile was NEVER sold to civilians, the reputation stuck to all 5.7. And who are the only people that generally wear body armor on a daily basis in the United States? Police Officers.

5.7 on left, with a real primer, not rimfire

5.7 was shouted down as the new scary “Cop Killer” bullet, much like Glock could “ go through metal detectors” as a plastic gun. Despite the ATF classifying 5.7 bullets as non-AP, the freak out was real. Coupled with a relatively high cost per round, typical of a new cartridge with limited platforms, we didn’t see much out of 5.7x28mm for many years.

While a few non-FNH platforms or conversions do exist, 5.7 remained mostly an FNH specific cartridge until recently. Over the last few years, we have seen CMMG chamber a Banshee for it and some AR conversions, but to my knowledge not one other real pistol beside the FNH existed. Until now.

stand up side by side view

The 5.7 actually has some insane ballistics for such a small cartridge. It pushes a 40-grain bullet at over 2000 FPS, while still having very minimal recoil. The ammo is very small and light, a huge bonus in terms of field use or survival. With the velocity, it actually isn’t that far off of 223/5.56 from a short barrel. Which is rather amazing considering the overall size of the cartridge.

With the history and ballistics lesson over, how about that Ruger 57? It is, quite simply amazing. On this model, Ruger did literally everything right. Even from the moment you pick up the case, the only word to describe it is quality.

Ruger case, a well done accessory

The case is a hard-sided plastic affair, with red accented latches ( padlock compatible of course) and Ruger stenciled in red on the front. Inside, the top is foam, while the bottom is hard molded plastic. The portion where the rear of the slide sits is cut for a red dot, which we shall elaborate on in a moment.

Very good looking gun

Then you pick up the gun. Despite being light and agile, it doesn’t feel cheap, in a manner we often associate with polymer guns. Ruger has not only added a very nice feeling texture to the grip but how they have shaped it is stunning. It narrows at the top, with a nice rear slide undercut and grooves at grips apex. Those grooves are large. At the risk of sounding like a crazy person, it feels like they were done to move your finger more in line with the trigger. It is a feature I didn’t know I wanted until today, but I can’t unsee it. ( To be fair, the P365 sports something similar, which I didn’t realize until today. The grip is rather oblong to facilitate the rectangular magazine required for 5.7x28mm, but it ends up feeling really good. Ruger also packed in a textured cut out at the bottom of the grip, to allow a serious grab on a potentially hung magazine, without taking away from the overall feel in your palm.

Top view of safety

The controls are also nicely executed. Up top, you get a 1911 style safety, ambidextrous out of the box. The slide lock is well machined, and a nice balance of useful size while remaining out of the way. The takedown lever is very thin, which keeps it from interfering with your grip while remaining easy to use. The magazine release is reversible, and while quite functional, is the only control that feels even a little out of place. It works really well, it is just plain. Which makes it feel a bit out of place with the other bits.

Takedown, slide lock, mag release, and trigger

Now, how about that trigger, the key piece to any handgun? Prepare to defend your morale. The trigger is kind of a hybrid of curved and flat, which produces a very nice feel. It has a safety in the middle of the trigger, but it is wide enough to easily depress without causing discomfort, even in a long day of shooting. The weight is a bit of an odd one. It felt so light and crisp, I would have sworn it was about 3 pounds. But my gauge insisted it was five and a half. We will have to chalk that up to a marvel of ergonomics, and I think you will agree it feels much lighter than the specs say.

Opposite side view, note trigger geometry

The gun ships with two magazines, which are steel. With a capacity of 20, this is a serious bit of shooting per mag. The magazines are true double stacks, with a follower in them just like a baby AR magazine. The basepads are flared a bit, which makes them easy to grab out of a pouch.

Cutout for gripping the magazine.

The slide is where the real magic happens. The engineering department really outdid themselves in both style and features. With both front and rear cocking serrations, and a machined in fuller, it is a beauty to behold. It also features a lightening window cut out on top, a fiber optic front sight with an adjustable rear, and did I mention included red dot plate? The plate mounts right in the top of the slide, without obstructing the iron sights. It adds maybe 1mm to the width of the slide but doesn’t take away from the looks.

Excellent execution on grip texture

With the overall aesthetics of the gun, you would swear it comes from a more expensive house if it didn’t have Ruger roll stamped down the slide. And I mean that in no way as an insult. Ruger has, in my lifetime at least, mostly been known for value guns. They might not be the most sexy, but they don’t cost much either. This one is absolutely different. At the risk of offending the Super Redhawk and Vaquero crew, I would stand behind this statement: The new Ruger 57 is the best handgun Ruger has produced since the original Security Six. Considering the Security Six set the standard for strength and durability back in the ’70s, that is no small statement.

Excellent front sight

This new gun is so good, it is hard to adequately put into words. And if this is the new direction Ruger is headed with handguns, everyone else is in trouble. Not only may I send Ruger a check instead of this gun back, but applied to 9mm, 45 ACP, as well as 22LR and 22 WM, this line could be amazing. And at an MSRP of $799, compared to the only competitor’s MSRP of $1435.00, this one is poised to dominate the market.

Learn more by visiting Ruger

 

Watch the Video Below to See Clay shoot the Ruger 57

Rear sight
Picatinny rail
Magazines and red dot plate
Field stripped
Inside of the slide, notice the firing pin channel
Beefy screws for securing the red dot plate, a need often overlooked.
Place holder screws removed in the background, red dot plate installed in foreground.
Internals
Double stack magazine

[track-link url=”https://www.gunsamerica.com/” campaign=”BuySellGA” target=”_blank”]Buy and Sell on GunsAmerica! All Local Sales are FREE![/track-link]

About the author: Clay Martin is a former Marine and Green Beret, retiring out of 3rd Special Forces Group. He is a multi-decade and -service sniper, as well as 3-Gun competitor and Master ranked shooter in USPSA Production. In addition to writing about guns, he is the author of “Last Son of The War God,” a novel about shooting people that deserve it. You can also follow him on twitter, @offthe_res or his website, Off-The-Reservation.com

{ 85 comments… add one }
  • Dr. White Crow April 27, 2020, 3:36 pm

    The new Ruger 57 is useless, because I cannot conceal carry it. Staying with my Glock 19.

    Dr. White Crow

  • Sam April 24, 2020, 5:33 pm

    I like Ruger just fine, but I start all my gun purchases with caliber. If I can’t take ammo off the body of my assailant, the gun is not much use to me. I have my fun guns, but even they use common rounds.

  • Michael Christensen April 24, 2020, 1:28 pm

    How about a metal frame option? Could be aluminum, steel, or some other metal. Yes it will be more expensive, but rigid is more accurate. Also, couldn’t they mill the slide some for the red dot instead of mounting it on top,

  • Norm Fishler April 24, 2020, 12:44 pm

    “Been around for ten years”??? Nope. I have a copy of December 1996 Machinegun News that has a fairly extensive write up on it. And it had been around for a short while when the article was published. “Best Ruger since the original Security Six”? Three others come to mind: Old Army, GP 100, and the 22/45.

  • usmcm14 April 24, 2020, 10:49 am

    If they would have made it in 22TCM it would have been better the 5.57×28 has never lived up to it claimed velocity in a pistol while the 22TCM easily meets or exceeds its advertised velocities in a pistol.

  • AK April 24, 2020, 9:06 am

    Ruger has my great respect, esp after Steve Sanetti took over and corrected a lot of past mistakes. But on this, nice try but nope…I’ll take their 10MM first.

  • Joseph V Diodato April 24, 2020, 8:07 am

    When my FFL called and said they had a preorder “57” that someone backed out of and I could have it for $599 I didn’t hesitate at all,mine did not come with the red dot base but not a deal breaker for me.After putting over 500 rounds down range (IMO) this is an accurate and reliable pistol.I have had no issues to date I just wish the ammo choices were better but fingers crossed that we will see more options in the future.
    I also have a PMR30 and honestly the Ruger will outshoot the Kel-Tec anyday.

  • Robert April 24, 2020, 7:06 am

    Well folks, (Clay) …..looks like you missed the boat on this one. With the exception of one or two people, I can
    see why the round has languished at the bottom of the INT pile. (I Need That) Overall impression is …….unimpressed.

    Hey GunsAmerica…….not EVERY gun can be the BEST GUN EVER. Obviously when you get a gun to test the company wants, nay EXPECTS, a positive review. But COME ON. We’re not “tupid”……point out the highs and lows, reflect on it, maybe even call on “regglar” folks at a pistol range to shoot it and give THEIR comments. But we are WAY PAST believing that this or any other gun is the best ever made.

    • Jim April 24, 2020, 10:06 am

      And…..just to add some credence to your comments, how many rounds have you fired through the new Ruger 57?

  • Paul April 24, 2020, 6:25 am

    If you can’t carry this weapon comfortably, what’s the point? I also hear people talking about ballistic performance at 100 yards. WTF!? If you’re “self defense” shooting and your assailant is more than 25 feet away, you’re going to have a tough time justifying your “afraid for my life” requirement under the reasonable man theory in the law. My advice for CCW holders is to carry a practical weapon that gets the job done at close range while being comfortable to carry, and easy to deploy. Stop thinking about what you can do with a handgun under conditions that will land YOU in prison. It’s very cool to have all this neat stuff, but I suggest you spend more time understanding and preparing for the real-life scenarios that you MAY encounter, and how you would lawfully respond……and live.

    • jonathan Wayne singleton May 1, 2020, 12:18 am

      Well Paul although I wouldn’t buy it till the round is more popular I have my carry weapon and I also have a slew of assault rifles and other handguns just for range fun and as collecting investments and maybe a zombie apocalypse but really practical for self defense NO absolutely not but not all my guns are for that some are just expensive toys

  • Zupglick March 20, 2020, 6:42 pm

    For those comparing to PMR-30. Buy a Ruger 57. Take it and the KelTec out to the range. Run 500 rounds thru both. Then come back and comment.

    • The SGM April 24, 2020, 9:09 am

      They should also include the price of those 500 rounds with the shooting comparison.

  • Darrin February 25, 2020, 7:01 pm

    Mine didn’t come with a red dot plate and only one offered in Ruger web store and it was on backorder finally got it 39.95 later and it wouldn’t work with my SIG romeo 1 bought a Burris its catching up with the FN price pretty fast.

  • Lord Jim February 25, 2020, 5:54 pm

    Own FN 5.7 for many years & still love it. Picked up the Ruger 57 two weeks ago, [now I’m a die hard RUGER fan for over thirty years & have been shooting for over sixty] this is IMO just a bit better, its all in the grip for me & this one is perfectly comfortable, bottom line is both are a kick to shot with one costing half the price. Guys & Gals, I like handguns that really go BOOOOOOM in a big way, his ‘little giant’ cartridge will not disappoint.

  • Walleye February 24, 2020, 4:36 pm

    The gun answers the question nobody ever asked, other than “what can we build out of plastic, that looks really ugly, and fires a woefully under-powered & expensive cartridge?”

  • Vic February 20, 2020, 3:25 pm

    I have considered getting a Kel Tec PMR30 and would rather have this Ruger, except for the fact that the 5.7 rounds are all FMJ. If they were available in Gold dot or XTP, or any JHP, this would be a great combination. Here’s to hoping.

    • A.S. March 24, 2020, 11:56 pm

      Vic they do make H.P. and B.T. they have for a long time the American Eagle is FMJ and they are the newest of all of them. SR197 sr195 and sr198 198s are the fastest of all of them 27gr H.P.

    • Jason March 25, 2020, 1:15 am

      Your comment is incorrect. The 5.7 is offered in jacketed hollowpoint and two different ballistic tip rounds as well as a solid copper round.

  • Mike N February 18, 2020, 12:43 pm

    I bought this one; I do like it.. had fnh years ago and I sold it but still had 300 rounds of ss192; picked this up for $588.00 from my dealer and he was still making money ..its scarce so dealers can drive up price or maybe ruger will charge more if people are willing to pay more; my dealer had two come in I was third in line; the first guy backed out. Very flat shooting; the only weakness I found was the position of mag release even with my long fingers you move hand out of position. I like this much more than FNH for my long and wide hand grip. Trigger OK long take up and slight mush feel at wall to me …but functions just fine. Overall its a nice pistol and hoping ammo will go down if enough people buy caliber and some lower end ammo mfg’s start pumping it out

  • Phil davis February 18, 2020, 9:03 am

    Is there a p.c.c. out in this caliber….

    • Austin Van Gilder February 18, 2020, 11:37 am

      Check out our DB Firearms Article from SHOT show this year. They make a really cool AR in 5.7.

  • steve hammill February 18, 2020, 2:10 am

    Prefer the grip on my hn 57, but still seems to a good gun. Will probably buy one for a second 57.

    BTW, in a pinch it will put down most black and brown bear around here if you have the brass to make the shot.

  • Randy February 17, 2020, 11:39 pm

    I would really be interested in this in a compact model

    • Big Al 45 April 24, 2020, 9:29 am

      I don’t see that, IMO the cartridge doesn’t lend itself well to a short barrel. and I’m willing to bet the muzzle flash would be awful.
      Frankly, this isn’t a self defense cartridge, it’s more of a hunting cartridge.
      I can see this gun as a nice small game getter, but for everyday carry for P.D., no.

  • Steven Miles February 17, 2020, 8:25 pm

    The Ruger mk 2. Is the best gun ever produced by Any company ever. Get your facts right!!

    • Big Al 45 April 24, 2020, 9:30 am

      I prefer my 22/45, better grip.

  • Gordon February 17, 2020, 8:12 pm

    40 gr bullet at over 2000 fps “isn’t that far off of a 223/5.56 from a short barrel” ???
    huh? someone needs to chronograph some 40 gr 223/5.56 ammo and then explain this to me.

  • Beachhawk February 17, 2020, 6:42 pm

    This is an interesting pistol, but how do the terminal ballistics stack up against other service and self-defense pistols?

    • winfred brown February 24, 2020, 2:55 pm

      Yeah that’s what my 8 inch AR does on Lab radar. 45gn about 2300fps giver or take same with 55gn. They start tumbling around 150yd or so and go everywhere. My tacticool whiteboy buddies talked me into it. Its a waste of safe space.

  • David F February 17, 2020, 6:23 pm

    And how mant rounds will the compact.(carry) version hold?
    That’s ther one I would seriously consider.

  • Tom February 17, 2020, 5:35 pm

    Is the slide pull fairly light?

    • Kenneth Ragan April 24, 2020, 9:30 am

      Yes….feels like a .22 pistol. Gun is extremely light. Easy to rack the slide.

  • FirstStateMark February 17, 2020, 4:38 pm

    Ruger 57 – The Best Ruger Handgun in 5 Decades? Hell NO! You on drugs?

  • Steve L February 17, 2020, 4:17 pm

    I wanted to comment on
    “Ken storie” post. He summed it up quite well in my opinion!
    To all those other “posters” I would just like to say something my grandmother always told me “if you can’t say anything nice about someone (or something) you probably shouldn’t say anything at all”!
    I just acquired a Ruger 57 (having had a FN FiveseveN and PS90 previously) and believe it’s a much better feeling and balanced pistol in the hand just for starters taking it out of the box! But maybe that’s cause I’ve always been an open minded sort of person. I’ll let you know more what I think about the gun once I actually put it through it’s paces, instead of my analysis from looking at a picture of one in a magazine article (at least I’ll be able to know what I’m talking about hopefully)!
    It’s an exciting firearm in my opinion so far and it will give me an opportunity to test out my supply of FN SS190 ammo I have hoarded away over the years.

  • michael gallagher February 17, 2020, 3:56 pm

    Clay, did you ever, once, mention how long the barrel is? Do you have a choice of barrel lengths? If I missed that important bit of information I apologize in advance, although I read the If you missed giving the information I would regard that as a sloppy review. And what about the ballistics?

    • Jason March 25, 2020, 1:45 am

      The barrel is 4.9 inches. The pistol feels very similar to a 1911 but much lighter. It is a very sharp looking firearm and the serrations, grip texturing, and lightning slot on top of the slide offer a step forward over most firearms I’ve seen and handled lately. The lightning slot is not simply for looks. The slot was added to help dependability in clambering and keep recoil springs from being overly heavy.
      Thanks to my wife I’m lucky enough to own an FN5.7, a Kel Tel pmr30 .22wmr and the new Ruger57. I would depend on either of the three to defend my life but would prefer the Ruger.
      I played $1,100.00 for the FN5.7 in 2005 and it’s a fine weapon but the Ruger has so many “upgrades” over the FN.

  • Area 52 February 17, 2020, 3:45 pm

    There are a few YouTube channels where it compares the damage of the 5.7 X 28 to other pistol calibers when shot at various items. I was not impress with the 5.7 performance. One channel claimed that the makers of level III bullet resistant body amour upgraded they amour so now it is able to block the civilian 5.7 round.
    The only advantage I see with this gun is it holds 20 rounds per mag and it’s lightweight and light recoil. . It’s still to big for concealment and louder that a 9mm.

  • Ron February 17, 2020, 3:28 pm

    I would love to get my hands on one of these American Made 5.7s. But, since I am captive of the Peoples Republik of Kalifornia, it will never be. Too many rounds in the magazine, not on the approved firearms list, and just too dark cool for Kalifornia. I can either move or drool on my keyboard.

    • Jason March 25, 2020, 1:48 am

      Not true Ron. The Ruger 57 is offered shipped with 10 rounds magazines.

      • ArvadaDude April 24, 2020, 1:20 pm

        Why wasn’t that mentioned in the Article?

  • Matt February 17, 2020, 3:06 pm

    I’m a handloader and a Ruger fan. I recently purchased their Redhawk 8 round 357. I waited a while to purchase it simply because the price was, in my opinion, too high. I thought it might eventually come down. Had it not been for my wife’s encouragement with money at Christmas to buy it it would still be a tab on my computer screen.

    I have the same problem with the 57. Ruger has produced a nice looking gun in a caliber that has some interesting performance. Much better looking than the FN. But the price of $750, lowest I can find, is just too high to grab my interest. I can buy a Ruger Security-9 Pro 9mm for $400. I understand new gun, part of the problem with the 8 round, and the need to offset some of the cost of developing that new gun. And a lack of real competition. But come on guys, this is at best a $600 gun and that would still not be especially interesting.

    I’ve been reading numerous reviews on the 57. But don’t see anything that would prompt me to spend $750. Maybe if it were in stainless:). But I guess that would take away from the weight advantage.

  • Bob Roberts February 17, 2020, 12:46 pm

    Are there any other calipers available for the Ruger Model 57

    • Micheal February 17, 2020, 2:28 pm

      No ruger 57 is a 5.7 x 28 only handgun.

      If you want other calibers you can look at their security 9 lineup for 9mm.

    • Don February 17, 2020, 3:24 pm

      NO

    • Randy April 24, 2020, 9:33 am

      You should be able too get both inside and outside.

  • RENFRU MULDOON February 17, 2020, 12:31 pm

    Does the magazine hold 10 or 20 rounds?

    • Micheal February 17, 2020, 2:26 pm

      20 rounds for free areas and has 10 rounds for communist areas.

    • Don February 17, 2020, 3:26 pm

      YES. In free states it has 20 round magazines. In Iron Curtain states it has 10 round magazines.

    • Shorthair February 17, 2020, 5:22 pm

      The article said 20 round magazine.

  • Mike in a Truck February 17, 2020, 12:24 pm

    OK I get it. This guy likes plastic guns with bladed triggers.I dont. He just about ejaculated all over himself. Put the 5.7 in a Single Six with Rugers fantastic scope rings and I’ll buy one.

    • Don February 17, 2020, 3:57 pm

      The 5.7 likely would not work in a revolver. The case would set back against the recoil plate and seize up. Most attempts to put shouldered or tapered cases in revolvers flopped. The .22 Jet is an example.

  • Irish-7 February 17, 2020, 12:22 pm

    I purchased a PMR-30 a few years ago to fulfill a few roles: 1) Lightweight handgun for walking/jogging. 2) Gun for Get Home Bag (brief survival role). 3) High capacity target shooting. It was difficult for me to add another caliber to my arsenal, as we stock ammo and it is a challenge to change all those containers and charts. As intrigued as I am with the Ruger 57, I’m not sure I want one. Is the Ruger that much an improvement over the .22 WMR pistol I already have? I know Rugers are more reliable than Kel-Tec! However, $800 + ammo will need some justification for me. Perhaps if I had the opportunity to alternate shooting the Ruger 57 and PMR-30 on the same trip to the range. I only know one guy that carries a 5.7×28 weapon. He is very happy with his pistol (FN?). He said it is the most accurate handgun he owns.

  • Bill February 17, 2020, 12:19 pm

    I am not a fan of the polymer framed pistols. We had frame rails that cracked on Glock 21’s, and were quietly replaced by Glock with the 21 SF’s. I do have the 21SF and a 27 in 40 cal. Both are for sale.

    If they had this in an alloy frame I would be interested. Having the option of a threaded barrel, as mentioned by others would be of benefit.

    • ArvadaDude April 24, 2020, 1:23 pm

      Glock manual specifically states it is not rated for +P or +P+ rounds. I’m guessing those guns had hot rounds put through and that voids the warranty.

  • dave brown February 17, 2020, 12:11 pm

    Thank You So Much. Old Gunner here and I was interested to c what would be said about it having a Safety as they seem to be out of style with way to many folks now a days. Not one word about the Safety so I know those that commented are Gunners. Me I figure it this way as u will be using this with a Holster (maybe even some retention). Those that complain that a short & light pull trigger has a Safety should simply Get Use To It. I roll around with my Grand Buds and I would not consider doing so without a Safety or a Long DA Trigger. For those that don’t like a Safety, first do not join the US Military as they will want you to use one, and second Use the Safety to re-holster the darn firearm so u don’t shot a hole in the ground, and then once it is Safely in ur holster if you must you can Click The Safety Off. Simple Enough. As for This Ruger Great Job, and keep em coming in let me say 40 or 45, and even 9, plus a slightly smaller package for those rounds. I hope my Soap Box was enlighten to those that just don’t see the reasons for a Safety. The rest of you I don’t worry about.

    • Uncle Nat February 18, 2020, 12:01 pm

      THANK YOU!!! I totally agree!

    • ArvadaDude April 24, 2020, 1:26 pm

      No offense but a gun will not fire unless the trigger is pulled. I’ve seen more neglegent discharges at the range with 1911’s than ANY other design. The military is not a good measure for a personal defense weapon. A weapon for self-defense used by a civilian has different design necessities and priorities.

      • Sam April 24, 2020, 5:52 pm

        Good point about military priorities. But tell me a good point about a bladed trigger. My EDC is DA, but everything else has the safety on until ready for use.

  • Don Tros February 17, 2020, 12:06 pm

    The excel accelerator been around for years. Pretty big and heavy but well made

  • Willie B Wonka February 17, 2020, 11:11 am

    Nice gun…but my p95 Ruger is all I need.

  • wiscogunner February 17, 2020, 10:50 am

    Looks like a very nice gun. If you like this caliber, check out the 22 TCM from Rock Island Armory. That is a very similar round with 2200+ FPS out of a 5″ barrel and it has a 40gr 22 cal. bullet. When you combine the velocity with the low recoil, either one of these “newer” calibers is very easy and enjoyable to shoot.

  • ROBERT J MIOTKE February 17, 2020, 10:31 am

    What’s wrong with the .22 TCM. And then we have the moldy-oldy 5mm Rem. Mag. When placed right both do lots of damage..

  • Ken storie February 17, 2020, 9:28 am

    I’ve worked in a gun store for years after I took an early retirement to satisfy my passion. We got a few 57×28’s last week. When I put it in my hand, oh wow, how fast can I get out my wallet. Boss lsaid be patient those firearms were already allocated, boo hoo. I waited for almost 10 months to get the Sig P 365 and hope I don’t have to wait that long before the production is adequate to fulfill the demand. For those who say it doesn’t give you anything more than you can already acquire, for that I say balderdash, every firearm is intended to fill a purpose. Just like golf, you don’t play a game with only one club. I’ve never known a tennis player to have just one racquet. I shot skeet, trap, an sporting clays for years and had to shoot various events, but with just one gun, no way. I’m fortunate that I can acquire most any pistol available today but currently the Ruger 57×28 has become the desire of my heart. Cudo’s to the engineering boys that cobbled out this beauty at an affordable price so that any shooter can possess one.
    Keni

  • Wallace February 17, 2020, 8:59 am

    Wonder if Ruger has considered building this platform in a 22 Mag caliber? I love ruger but won’t consider the 5.7×28 but would buy it in 22 mag. Wallace in Ga

  • Paul Dunn February 17, 2020, 8:54 am

    Needs a threaded 1/2 x 28 barrel. Also i would like a 22wmr version.

    • Jimbo February 17, 2020, 10:28 am

      Agreed. Both of those rounds are crazy loud out of short barrels. I own several rifles in 5.7 and I love them for Prairie dogs and the like. I shot the pistol and I think it shattered my front teeth.

  • Winchesterman February 17, 2020, 8:50 am

    I just can’t see what the 57 does that the 22 mag can’t do better. 40 gr ammo is nearly identical and the Maxi Mag + V stuff in 30 gr at 2250 FPS just simply outperforms the 57. The KelTec PMR 30 has greater capacity by 10. If Ruger made the basic 57 in 22 mag, it looks like it might hold 40 plus rounds.. then I might get one

    • RYAN February 17, 2020, 10:36 am

      Why do people insist on posting 22 magnum RIFLE ballistics when talking about 5.7 pistols? Maxi-mag +V doesn’t come ANYWHERE CLOSE to 2250 fps from a pistol. It won’t hit 1600 fps from a barrel the length of the Ruger 5.7 barrel. The 5.7 does just about everything better than the 22 magnum, with the big exception of cost.

      • PHILIP C SALLEY February 17, 2020, 11:12 am

        Not to mention the stagger large magazine complexities associated with rimmed cartridges. Kal-Tec 30 or 33.

      • dave morgan February 17, 2020, 1:06 pm

        add the benefit of center fire over rim fire for being dependable the bid goes to 5.7X28…There is no need to practice 100 round sessions after we acquire decent skills, therefore ammunition cost is not such a consideration…The Ruger 57 is on my mind..

      • Stuart February 17, 2020, 3:37 pm

        The 5.7 is reloadable. .22 Magnums aren’t.

      • Jason March 25, 2020, 2:13 am

        Thank you! The only thing similar is they’re both loud and you get a big fireball. Neither are a reason to purchase a handgun.
        I love my pmr30 .22wmr but if there’s a real threat in front of me I want the 5.7×28

    • Mark E April 6, 2020, 5:08 pm

      Check out 22 plinkster you tube video, the pmr 30 will not penetrate 1 1/4 inch bullet proof glass. The 5.7 x 28 will, enough said.
      As for the question about the 57 having a safety in the review yes it does have a safety it’s a 1911 style.

  • Johnathon Vigrass February 17, 2020, 8:21 am

    I am interested, however without a threaded barrel option, I wont pick one up. Hopefully threaded barrels show up soon.

    • Jim S May 5, 2020, 3:24 pm

      You don’t need threaded barrel. This is not a suppressor gun. The round is super-sonic and will emit a loud crack even if the boom was surprised. Buying sub-sonic ammo defeats the purpose.

      This has a specific application. Being able to carry lots & lots of ammo easily to defend your (potentially mobile) position or movement to contact & sometimes at extended range.

  • Rip Lupo February 17, 2020, 8:04 am

    If They would have went one step further and cut the slide for a red dot instead of plopping a plate on top that would have made for a nicer look and maybe a co witness. Anyway, good job Ruger!

  • Jay February 17, 2020, 7:57 am

    The 5.7X28 was the answer for NATO’s request for something to replace the 9mm. The velocities and sales pitches usually stretch the ballistic performance to mentioning those out of a rifle, all while touting the sale of a pistol. The civilian legal SS 195 28-grain 2,100fps or SS196 40- grain 1,600fps ammunition muzzle velocities. By comparison, the muzzle velocity of Winchester 40- grain 22 MAGNUM SUPER-X fired through a 6.5- inch barrel handgun is listed at 1,910 fps– leaving the 57 a bit anemic and putting it on par with a magnum rimfire in terms of ballistic performance. Claims have been made that the SS190 31 grain AP, ammunition for LEO and military use, fired from a FN P90 has a velocity of 3,000 fps,. when in reality it is around maximum of 2,350fps. Kind of like the claims made for 350 legend cartridge being velocity stretched for sales. In my humble opinion it’s just another niche cartridge that has a use for sure, 40 countries have already adopted it but not for most people unless they’re just looking for something different, with totally priority ammunition many won’t bother. Now where’s my old 22 magnum pistol?

    • Johnathon February 17, 2020, 8:25 am

      Jay,

      I agree. I have a SBR PS90 and its fun to shoot, buts its merely a range toy with expensive Ammo. It is fun though and my friends always pick it outta the gun room when I take them to the range. If the Ruger had a threaded barrel then i would be interested. But if i cant suppress it then I am not interested, because it will also be a range toy only.

    • RYAN February 17, 2020, 9:51 am

      You mean your 22 magnum revolver right? You quote a 6.5 inch barrel for the .22 magnum. Not many pistols with that length. The 5.7 achieves higher velocities than the .22 magnum in pistols. There is no getting around that. And 5.7 pistols hold 20+1 rounds. Plus the 5.7 is centerfire and has a necked case making it MUCH more reliable than a .22 magnum. I’m not saying either one is my choice for personal defense, but 5.7 would be a much better option between the two.

  • Ohiochuck February 17, 2020, 7:54 am

    Would have been great if it was 7.63×25. Just too small a caliber as is.

  • oscar February 17, 2020, 7:34 am

    RIFLE!!!!!!!

  • William Wood February 17, 2020, 6:26 am

    I like the 5.7 round and fondled the 57 at SHOT. I’m less excited about the gun than Clay. My main gripe is the mag release location. For average size hands, you will absolutely need to adjust your shooting grip to reach the release. Nothing quick about the change. Fortunately, with 20 rounds aboard, you will be doing it less often. It’s good to see Gold Dots rolling out for the 5.7 too.

  • James February 17, 2020, 6:21 am

    Looks like a Kel-Tec ? Slide appears awful long ……

    • ArvadaDude April 24, 2020, 1:29 pm

      Funny how this 5.7 looks like a kel tec and the LCP looks like a kel-tec. Seeing a pattern

Leave a Comment

Send this to a friend